Luckily, today started well and has got progressively better, unlike yesterday

I feel lucky. Yesterday was a right bastard, but so far today could not have gone better for me. [Best not to tempt fate just yet. I could still get hit by a bus]

First, a good early morning workout with the ever-inspiring Jaymes.

Then home to shower, dress and put on the beautiful new silver necklace and bracelet I bought myself as a reward for shedding 10 kilos and achieving my goal of running 4 kms in less than 20 mins. I know, they should be rewards in themselves, and they are, but I rarely indulge my magpie tendency towards shiny niceness so…

Next, my favourite band – Foo Fighters – announced via twitter that they would be playing a small gig tonight in Sydney. IN SYDNEY. TONIGHT. Oh. My. Effing. God. Tickets were to go on sale at midday, could only be bought in person and only one ticket per person, to foil scalpers. I was stuck in a meeting [work can be terribly inconvenient sometimes] but sent out an impassioned plea to friends in the area – via iphone held surreptitiously under the desk – in the, I thought, vain hope that one of them would somehow be able to circumvent the rules and get me a ticket even though I wasn’t able to get to the shop to queue.

In what can only be described as a heroically selfless act on the part of the incomparable Fugitive Pieces, who waited in line for more than two hours AND managed to persuade the Powers That Be not to put the no-tamper wrist band on too tightly so that she was able to wriggle it off and I was able to wriggle it on… I shall be going to the gig tonight. Cinderella, eat yer heart out.

After my annual review yesterday [and more on that anon], this is just what I needed. I still can’t quite believe that I’m going to get to see the Foos live tonight. I can’t stop smiling.

I am blessed with extraordinarily good friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Luckily, today started well and has got progressively better, unlike yesterday

  1. azahar says:

    That is SO COOL! Especially after having to give up your UK tickets.

    Looking forward to a full report…

  2. Colm says:

    Terrific! I have seen some of your live tweets coming through, and it looks like the concert is going well!

    • Woo says:

      I had planned to take photos and tweet ‘live’, for the benefit of other friends who love the Foos, but I just got carried away once the mosh got going…

  3. David says:

    That *is* a good friend. I hope the concert is everything you hoped it would be, and more!

  4. sledpress says:

    I know about being a magpie honored in the breach. I love the sparklies, but can’t really put up with the stuff clinking around on me. What’s a girl to do?

    • Woo says:

      I agree – which is why it had taken me so long to find something I could live with, that wouldn’t drive me to distraction with clinking and dangling. And that would be robust enough not to break at the first opportunity – I’m not really much good at looking after inanimate objects. They either survive my life or they don’t.

Leave a Reply

