Inbox inanity

I was just scrolling through the as yet un-dealt with emails in my inbox when it occurred to me that the list of subject fields was… er, I suppose you could call it ‘interesting’.

1. Kangaroo birth spread mother licking cloaca visible?

2. 3D boy problems

3. dogs and mariachis – costs

4. INV SND pdfs HR pre-CRA

5. 3 missing crowns

6. hi from wet London

7. Sustainability Centre Opening this Sunday!

8. A favour from woo…

9. koncepcja infografiki do podręcznika przyrody

10. Old Man’s for 12:30

I love how every grouping of human beings develops its own language of acronyms, contractions, nicknames and codes for its common activities.

This entry was posted in niceness. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Inbox inanity

  1. modestypress says:

    Today we are celebrating FOJ.

    This may indicate we are a lonely country and nobody (except a few million illegal immigrants) came to our birthday pary.

    Or it may refer to Fiber-Optic Isolated Spherical Dipole (antenna), or so the Internet tells me, for no reason I can make sense of and probably refers to something both immoral and quite painful.

    But then perhaps if we agree to celebrate boxing day you will agree to celebrate FOJ.

    Also, yesterday, I left the garden gate open while taking goodies to the chucks and a small rabbit is now hiding in our garden. I may celebrate FOJ not by setting off firecrackers, but by shooting a rabbit. What barbarians we Amercans are!

  2. Woo says:

    Happy Independence Day, Americans!

    (sorry, slightly belated because of time zone differences)

  3. sledpress says:

    dogs and marachis? or mariachis? For the record, I hope both stay as far from me as possible.

  4. azahar says:

    “Sustainability Centre Closing this Sunday” would have been funnier… or perhaps will be a future email subject?

  5. See, I noticed the “dogs and mariachis” right away too. Must be a massage therapist thing… anyway, what I wanted to know was what kind of party was that? And the kangaroo subject line was just too funny.

    My email headings are very boring.

    • Woo says:

      The kangaroo email was sent to me by a lovely man who lives on the side of a hill in Wales. He’s a wonderful artist and is doing the illustrations for a kids book about a kangaroo for us at the moment. My inbox is full of emails from him with specific and anatomically correct subject fields like that because he has absolutely no idea how funny they sound at the other end, out of context :)

Leave a Reply

