Together at last

If you were at all wondering how my trip back to the UK to see the man for whom I’d carried an unrequited torch was going, I should think this picture says it all.

20110722-092120.jpg

We were high up inside the 13th century tower of Salisbury cathedral, having spent a couple of days dashing from Bristol to London to Wiltshire to see family on both sides.

My Viking Sousaphonist’s mother, elder brothers, their wives and children could not have been warmer or more welcoming. They were genuinely delighted to see him so happy and said some wonderfully kind things.

So, as is to be expected, our story has a long tail and once or twice it has twitched and thrashed a little uncomfortably, but we are employing patience, honesty and the affection that is considerate of another’s feelings… And it is turning out better than I could have hoped and becoming something stronger than I think either of us ever dared to dream was possible.

This entry was posted in niceness, unrequited. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Together at last

  1. David says:

    Wonderful, Truce…you both look radiant. I couldn’t be more delighted for both of you!

  2. modestypress says:

    I will show this picture to Big Mama, Moll, and Little Peep (the adult hens) and to Lucy and Ethel (the teenagers) to see if they approve. However, as Lucy and Ethel are just adolescents, and still trying to find their place in the pecking order, I think you can disregard their comments.

    Seriously, that is a wonderful picture and I am very happy for both of you.

    Nor rush, but I will be sending you a silly email about my recent brush with the quietly powerful (if seriously though cheerfully crippled) on my not quite jungle isle. So when you come up for air, there may be something a bit amusing to read.

  3. modestypress says:

    No rush is what my clumsy fingers meant to type.

  4. So lovely, you both look extremely happy and perhaps just a little bit smug….

    I have to tell you that the name “Viking Sousaphonist” brings up all sorts of thoughts and reactions as far as that particular instrument and its players go — So many bad jokes — Did you hear the one about the tuba player that walked past a bar the other day?
    *
    *
    *
    Well, it COULD have happened. . .

    Seriously, you both look so darned happy, and I’m glad the tail twitches are not derailing you. Of course, THAT makes me think about Mallory and her tail, and how sometimes it moves in the corner of her eye, startles her and requires pouncing on, which is confusing because as soon as she tries to corral it it isn’t there any more; and if she catches it and bites is there is unaccountable pain. . .

  5. piereth says:

    Thank god. You both look so happy. Thank you, god. God bless you both.

    Sorry to get needlessly emotional but I is cryin’. Forgive.

    xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. bigbadjohnnyp says:

    Glad it’s working out! And better than you thought is good – much better than the alternative!

  7. I keep coming back to this picture — it amazes me how much of a matched set you look. A radiant matched set…

  8. Hooray!! I am so happy for both of you. How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

