Our Love Nest

My back is aching, I’m exhausted but content. Yesterday I moved into our Love Nest – the most completely fabulous flat on Sydney’s harbour foreshore.

I could list all the things I already love about it, but I’m pretty sure that this one photo taken from my sofa last night will illustrate it better than a hundred words ever could…

Yes, that is Sydney Opera House directly opposite our living room windows. Good lord, quite extraordinary.

And the skirting boards are not ingrained with filth. Such bliss for a clean freak.

The only things missing now are:

1. Ed; and to be with him again I have to possess my soul in patience for another few weeks

2. the midbeam from our new Ikea bed; the one I bought comes in 5 – count ‘em – separate packages from 5 separate areas of the store and I, of course, failed to pick up the smallest and least cumbersome of the 5 so that will entail another trip to Ikea this weekend

3. a fridge and washing machine; being delivered this afternoon by the rental people as it turns out to be cheaper to rent for 6 months than to buy second-hand

4. a toaster; preferably one with settings other than ‘dough’ and ‘coal’

So, 6 months of luxury living in our love nest, to be followed by our wedding and then a few months in a campervan travelling round Europe on honeymoon.

During which time, of course, we decide where to settle, how to support ourselves and try to start a family.

This entry was posted in niceness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Our Love Nest

  1. That looks like a perfect place to begin a new, wonderful life.

  2. David says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous!

  3. modestypress says:

    How loverly. Tomorrow I will tell Big Mama, Moll, Lucy, and Ethel, our four chooks, about what a lovely hen house you have. They will cluck and peep with appreciation and jealousy, I am sure, and try to send a few bugs and choice weeds your way.

    • Woo says:

      thanks! And when the inevitable revolution comes, there is plenty of space around the block to keep chooks and even a couple of goats, I reckon. ;)

  4. bigbadjohnnyp says:

    What a view – is that a jetty of some sort out in front? A ferry perhaps?

    • Woo says:

      yep, its the Beulah Street wharf. Not on the main ferry service so its not constantly busy which is nice – mainly just fishermen down there, actually, and tourists taking photos of the view :)

  5. What a great view! How lucky you found this very nice place, and it looks like a grand spot to begin a life story together.

    • Woo says:

      And I even managed to bring my frangipani tree in its pot along with me, too, plus a couple of aloes that are about to flower. They’re doing very nicely sitting right in front of the window, soaking up the sunshine. Next time you and Jim book a cruise, you’ll have to pop in to Sydney!

  6. OmbudsBen says:

    Congratulations, T-Woo. It’s wonderful to see things coming together for you. (And it IS a killer view!)

  7. modestypress says:

    Mama (my daughter), Mommy (my daughter-out-of-law), Anne Elise (aka Random Granddaughter) are all visiting us on Whidbey Island. RG just helped me let the chickens out of the hen house and we are about to have some fresh eggs for breakfast. I just showed RG the view from your window.

    It might take a day or two, but if you hear a knock on the door it might be RG dropping in on your love nest.

  8. Teresa says:

    Wow! Happy nesting site!

Leave a Reply

