My Sister's Birthday




Sisters

Originally uploaded by norwichrocks.

Today is my youngest sister Dana’s 25th birthday (on the right in the photo above, next to my other sister Mara). Hurray!

She has become a wonderful woman: warm, funny, kind and thoughtful. I am proud of her and glad we’ve had the opportunity to get to know one another better since she moved to Norwich.

Memories of Dana:

Sitting by her bed, singing “Away in a Manger” and “Little Donkey” to her from my school hymn book to make her go to sleep. She was about 4 years old.

Seeing her in my old school uniform blazer, on her first day at prep school. She was swamped by it and seemed worryingly small and fragile.

Watching her play “Aunt Augusta” in the College production of “The Importance of Being Earnest”. Inspired casting – she got a standing ovation 🙂

Trying to persude her to eat snails when she came to visit me at university. She was having none of it.

Telling my mother that I thought Dana might be a little deaf because she talks so loudly. My mother explaining that Dana talks loudly because she is the youngest child of four and had to shout to make herself heard over the noise the rest of us were making. Fair point.

Teaching her basic fencing moves in the garden when I arrived back from my Gap Year. I hadn’t seen her in a year and she’d grown up sooooo much.

Running through the streets of Norwich with her, barefoot in the rain, one night not so long ago, laughing like loons.

Happy Birthday Sparky.

This entry was posted in niceness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

