Quintus Horatius Flaccus was right

I’ve never really understood the delight in nostalgia, in looking back over ‘the good old days’ of childhood/student days. Not that I didn’t enjoy those times, mind: mostly I did.

But I have always felt that the really good stuff was somehow just about to happen – next week, next month, next year.

Maybe this difference is due to the fact that essentially my state hasn’t changed – I’m still single, still responsible only for myself. I can still, at the age of 34, chuck in a job and disappear off to Australia without worrying about a partner’s job or a child’s education. I don’t have to look back to my days of being ‘young, free and single’.

In truth, I’m still looking forward to the day when I won’t be young, free and single. And in the meantime (and just in case) I’m going to carpe that diem.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quintus Horatius Flaccus was right

  1. laverneandshirley says:

    I was just having a conversation with someone about looking back. I don’t mind reminiscing … but I hate it when it turns into things like “oh, the kids grow up so fast” and “we’re getting so old” and crap like that. It’s too depressing.

    I like you’re way of thinking. Seize the day! Learn from yesterday, but don’t dwell on it!
    –L

  2. truce says:

    Thanks Laverne, I completely agree – its too easy to slip into all that nonsense about how we’re getting sooooo old etc. Boring. plus, Plato didn’t write the Republic til he was in his 70’s so I figure I still have plenty of time to fulfil my enormous potential!!

  3. Shirley says:

    I see nostalgia as a seductive liar.
    In some cases things were either worse or better than they really were.

    It’s like when someone really nasty dies. By some miracle they become a saint when they die. Huh?

  4. piereth says:

    Damn right, that woman!

    Nostalgia doesn’t ever help, it only tries to make you dissatisfied with what you have in the here and now. It’s good to remember, but not to long to be back in an earlier time.

    I’m old when I say so. Truce, it is not yet time to wear purple! I am looking forward now… seeing you sitting in Lavender Bay somewhere drinking a cold long one and watching the harbour in the sunset…. half a world away in the magical lands – my god, what could be better than that???

  5. truce says:

    Oddly enough Shirley, I was just talking to a friend of mine about how her Grandmother had died recently and she was horrified at how much rose-tinted nonsense was said about her at her funeral, mostly by people who hadn’t liked her at all when she was alive!

    Ah, yes, Jools, as I scraped the two inches of snow off my car this morning I thought “Soon, I will be applying factor 50 suncream…” huzzah! I will put the purple back in the wardrobe!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

