Jools Came To Town

butterflies pinned to a board, Norwich Museum

And we had a blast! Ate, talked, cooked, shopped, looked at old stuff, read and talked some more.

You know how with some friends, even if you don’t see them for months – years sometimes – as soon as you’re together its as though you were never apart? That’s how it is with Jools and I.

The paths through life that we’re each of us currently trundling along are quite different: she is married, with a young son, working part-time and settled in an area of the country near her family. I’m single, my only responsibility is a house rabbit and I’m about to up sticks to Australia for at least a year for a new job.

Both of us cast the occasional glance at the other path – the one with the greener grass – and think “mmm, I wonder…”

I like to believe that the paths we choose (or, in my case, stumble upon while wandering through the woods up to my knees in mud distractedly picking up funny looking twigs, pretty flowers, broken birds eggs and nice bits of moss) don’t only ever lead in one direction, to one destination.

Just because I’m on this path at the moment doesn’t mean it’s the only one I’ll ever take, now does it?

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jools Came To Town

  1. piereth says:

    I want to thank you for a sparkling and amazing weekend, baby.

  2. cer!se says:

    what a shame i was away and couldnt meet you Jools!

  3. truce says:

    Thanks for coming all that way, honey, it was soooo good to see you. And I love the fact that you, too, consider sitting reading with a cuppa to be ‘doing something’ 🙂

  4. Ed says:

    on the subject of paths I know exactly what you mean. it’s naff naff naff but… I keep this little number on my wall: “There is no way to happiness – happiness is the way”

  5. I have a couple of friends like that. They are jewels indeed. Treasured jewels.

  6. truce says:

    top zen little quote Ed, thanks 🙂

    Jools the jewel, I like it, thanks healingmagichands!

  7. truce says:

    And Gill, you and Jools would have got on like the proverbial blazing residential property – we’ll have to reconvene in a year!

  8. laverneandshirley says:

    Aaaahhhh. What a great weekend! I think I need one of those!
    –L

  9. piereth says:

    Cer!se, I’m sooo sorry I missed you, next time we’ll paint Narrrtch red!

    Ed – too right. Forget where you’re supposed to be going and just go!!

    Healingmagichands, you’ve given me a great idea, thanks! I’ll let you know what it is when / if it bears fruit…. 🙂

    T – I’ve never understood people who don’t consider reading activity! Well, yes, they’re the sort who see you’re reading and think you’re doing nothing and talk at you….

    Laverne – if only I could’ve bottled this weekend I’d make a fortune.

Leave a Reply

