Breakfast on Pluto

Last night I watched a beautiful and brilliant film set in The Republic of Ireland and London in the 70’s, Breakfast on Pluto. If Cillian Murphy doesn’t get an Oscar for his portrayal of Patrick/Patricia ‘Kitten’ Braden, then the whole damn thing must be a farce, fixed to reward something other than the ostensible performance.

Wait, what? Ah, yes, I see. Hit the nail on the head. Right.

I’m confused as to the correct word for the main character though – transvestite or transsexual? Or both? Or neither? He’s a boy/man who dresses and acts as a girl/woman and fancies men.

The character ‘Kitten’ seems soft on the outside but has a core of tempered steel. He survives abandonment, ridicule, bullying, terrorists and sexual predators. Unlike me, I am tough on the outside with a core of soggy jelly and barely survive an episode of Animal Hospital. 🙂

I recommend the film.

This entry was posted in books, films, music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Breakfast on Pluto

  1. laverneandshirley says:

    I would call him a transvestite. I think transexual is the term for someone who has actually had the dangly bits below moved and the dangly bits above added.

    Sounds good! I wonder if it’s here …I haven’t even heard of it before.

    –L

  2. truce says:

    Yes, I thought that, too, but I’m told by two of my gay friends that Transvestites are not always homosexual, which this chap was, and it was clearly more than just the clothes that he wanted to change! Ah well, I think most things are too complicated for the labels we give them.

  3. azahar says:

    From Dictionary.com…

    transvestite –
    a person, esp. a male, who assumes the dress and manner usually associated with the opposite sex.

    transexual –
    1. a person having a strong desire to assume the physical characteristics and gender role of the opposite sex.
    2. a person who has undergone hormone treatment and surgery to attain the physical characteristics of the opposite sex.

    I don’t think either are homosexual per se, though they may choose to be.

    Sounds like a good film – hope it shows up here in original version (as opposed to dubbed).

    “If Cillian Murphy doesn’t get an Oscar for his portrayal of Patrick/Patricia ‘Kitten’ Braden, then the whole damn thing must be a farce, fixed to reward something other than the ostensible performance.”

    Ummm. . . 🙄

  4. I guess we will have to buy the DVD if we want to watch it. I can’t see a film with such a challenging subject showing up in any video place in this rather benighted community. I mean, we can’t even get “Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.” There were people protesting the musical “The Full Monte” when it was presented in a theatre in Springfield. Pu-leeze.

  5. truce says:

    Well, Norwich is pretty parochial and conservative, too – I rented it over the net. They send it through the post and you post it back. Its a really cool system 🙂

Leave a Reply

