Atmosphere

Oooh, its like living in a soap opera here at the moment.

My boss and my colleague have just had a big row about my possible replacement – I’ve recommended someone with the necessary skills, personal qualities and experience but he’s holding out for a decent salary. Can’t say I blame him.

I’m paid £10K less than the person I took over from, even though the company is now more profitable… I know, I know, I’m a idiot to have put up with that, but I was new to the industry when I took the job on and it was a way into publishing and I was recovering from an illness etc etc etc…

Also, the salary situation is further complicated because my colleague feels she should be paid the same as me/the new person, even though the roles and responsibilities are not the same.

Usually I try to pour cool water on the flames, but today I feel like liberally sloshing petrol around the place, tossing in a few matches and then running outside singing “I’m a firestarter, twisted firestarter!”.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Atmosphere

  1. Piereth says:

    Stay cool, remain detatched and laugh up your sleeve at the -excuse me! – world’s most inefficient typist demanding a manager’s salary. You are sooooo well out of this. Hooray for 747s, oodles of blue water and the world’s strictest immigration control – all between you and Wendy!!!

  2. truce says:

    🙂 yeah, its okay, she’s gone off home in a strop and the boss is now talking to the potential replacement guy again, so hopefully they’ll sort it out.

  3. laverneandshirley says:

    Sounds like they’re in grade 7. When you’re done in Australia, do you have to come back to this place? Hopefully they’re all gone by then … or else have had lobotomies or something.
    –L

  4. Once again I thank the stars that I work for myself and by myself. I’m afraid I would not do well in the corporate world. Like, the first time they told me to wear a bra I guess I would probably say something like “Bite me” followed by “I’ll see you in court for sexual harrassment.”

  5. truce says:

    My dilemma now is: do I ‘warn’ the new guy about my colleague, or just keep well out of it? He’s a friend of mine and I don’t want him to get emotionally bullied like I have been, but I’m also all for people making their own judgements… maybe she’ll be fine with him anyway?…

  6. laverneandshirley says:

    I don’t know if I would say anything. If she ends up being nice to him (because he’s a “him”) then you might look bad, ya know…but if he asks about her, I would validate him and let him know that she did the same things to you. He might actually smarten her up!

  7. Piereth says:

    No, I wouldn’t tell him. She may react in a completely different way with him – let’s hope, anyway.

  8. Ed says:

    I’d probably make light passing reference to some of your experiences with her. He should know – it won’t mean he gets the same treatment as you.

    But also in the office, you could wander around telling everyone to ‘relax’…’breathe’…’imagine you are floating in warm sea water’.. and other inanities. That would soothe everyone 🙂

  9. Congratulations on your new job! Do the internets get as far as Australia?

  10. truce says:

    Thanks Crumpet and Bear (and glad to have you back!). Yes, I shall definitely be posting from Down Under… in fact, I am looking at buying a new macbook for that very purpose while en route.

  11. truce says:

    Ed – I’m finding that going: *happy sigh* “Did I mention I’m going to Australia in three weeks?” is working wonders already… heh heh.

  12. psychocandy says:

    Wow, only three more weeks. What a boost that must be to your morale in the office. 😉

  13. The military refers to this as being “Short”, as in you have only a short time left at a certain post.

    Enjoy your move.

  14. Pingback: Late Breaking Scuba Diving Instructors

Leave a Reply

