Ego-boosting Email Eulogy

Sent out a letter to the artists, explaining my departure and introducing my replacement. The response so far is making me go pink with pleasure.

Dear Trucie,
I’d just like to say that Pauline and I wish you well and hope you have a great time down under. You have been a fantastic agent, it didn’t matter what problem there was, you were never flustered and always sorted it out straight away. My family will confirm (to their great relief) that I have been a lot less stressed since you joined the agency! I just wanted to thank you for all your hard work on my behalf and to let you
know how much it’s appreciated. I can only hope your replacement is half as good! You must keep in touch and let us know how you are getting on without, of course, mentioning the weather too much!
cheers,
Peter xx

This entry was posted in niceness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ego-boosting Email Eulogy

  1. piereth says:

    No more than you deserve, my sweet! They’re going to miss you, not least because of the aforementioned unflappable calm – it must have made their lives and jobs a lot easier.

    A replacement has been selected – that is good news. The chap you put forward?

  2. truce says:

    Yep, another Pete. He’ll do a wonderful job, I have no doubt, so I feel better knowing that I’m leaving the artists in capable hands.

  3. laverneandshirley says:

    Isn’t that wonderful? More people need to let people like you know what a good job they’re doing. You will be truly missed! Will you be coming back in a year?
    –L

  4. truce says:

    Thanks girls!

    Several people have asked me what I’m going to do next year and I honestly don’t know. I’m not much of a planner-ahead because I find that things rarely turn out the way you planned; I just tend to assume that ‘something will turn up’ and it always does!

    So, I’m not sure – I’ve always wanetd to live and work in France, so maybe I’ll try that next.

  5. psychocandy says:

    Maybe things will work out SO well in Australia, you’ll want to stay. France would be nice, too.

    I’m one of those plan-ahead sort of people. Not that things always (or even close) work out according to those plans. In fact, they seldom do. But things always have a way of working out well enough in the end. Sometimes it just takes a while to get there, and you wind up taking the scenic route. 😉

    How wonderful that your soon-to-be former employer appreciated you so much. It feels good, doesn’t it! And you’ll always have an excellent reference, it seems.

  6. truce says:

    Thanks psychocandy, I agree – things do have a way of working out in the end *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

