75th Birthday… of a Bridge

Sydney’s Harbour Bridge is 75 years old and yesterday was a whole day of birthday celebrations – fireworks, music, Aboriginal Smoke Ceremony, a flypast and a Ferry & Working Boats race, plus a chance to walk across the Bridge in a free silly hat. Which, clearly, I could not resist.

We did it at night, so our hats had little lights on the front. Super cool.

I roped in four new friends from my office and we all really enjoyed it. Plus its nice to be starting to hang out with people outside of work.

~~~~~

My first Aussie scuba dive on Sunday in Manly. Good group of people (apart from one bloke – there’s always one bloke who thinks he knows it all and turns out to be a liability once we get under the water and this one was no exception. Sigh. He was really racist too).

I saw my first ever Wobbegong and Port Jackson sharks! They were beautiful. Also saw cuttlefish, octopus, stingrays and a HUGE blue grouper. 🙂

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 75th Birthday… of a Bridge

  1. azahar says:

    You’re really settling in, aren’t you? How’s the new flat? Nice that the people you work with are also people you like hanging out with.

    Um… wobbegong?

  2. truce says:

    Yes, thanks Azahar, I’m settling in really well now. Still haven’t figured out the bus network yet – that’s what I need to do next!

    The new flat is great and my flat mate is lovely. I feel like I’ve known her for years.

    A Wobbegong is a shark which lives on the bottom and has a lovely pattern to blend in with his surroundings. They also – and this is the cool bit – have all these fringing tassles of skin round their edges to camouflage them even further. They’re just beautiful creatures. 🙂

  3. woodpigeon says:

    :mrgreen:

    That sounds wonderful! I’ve gone scuba diving just three times – Sharm, Mauritius and Phuket. I remember seeing a black tipped reef shark and swimming after him.

  4. piereth says:

    Wobbegongs are very old evolutionarily, a throwback to a primaeval age!!

    Gorgeous diving – look out for blue-ring octopus – really beautiful if a bit deadly 🙂

    Groupers are lovely, just like dogs….

    Sooo glad your flatmate is nice and the house is a triumph – there is no downside by the sounds!

  5. Ivan says:

    Wobbegongs are cool. 🙂

    I know a lot of people who’d go out of their way to get a free silly hat. One with a light on it is special indeed, and it will be useful during blackouts.

  6. truce says:

    Ah, Woodpigeon, I’d love to dive Phuket – I’ve ‘done’ (although that’s an awful phrase) Dahab on the Red Sea, Mauritius, Kenyan coast, and Weymouth in the UK, but I’ve never been to Thailand. Still on my list! And I would follow a Black Tipped Reef Shark too. :))

    Yes, Yes, Piereth m’dear, this grouper was exactly like a dog – labrador in fact, scrounging for food. I guess some divers must feed them, which I don’t agree with. (Yet I feed the birds, so maybe I’m being illogical)

    Ivan, absolutely – I’ve heard about the blackouts… plus, with this hat I’ll never be unprepared for spontaneous pot-holing expeditions!

Leave a Reply

