Flowers in the Rain




White Hibiscus

Originally uploaded by norwichrocks.

Spent a quiet morning at the Botanical Gardens. Quiet largely because it was raining I think – don’t people have macs and brollies? – and chillier than it has been since I arrived. Lovely and fresh.

We had a big storm last night with strong winds, too, so most of the flowers weren’t looking their best. In fact, they’re probably embarrassed that I took their photos. Bad petal day.

I had fun getting to know some of the endemic birds (thanks Ivan for the tip on the bird book) and saw my first Kookaburra. He wasn’t laughing though. Maybe it was the rain.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flowers in the Rain

  1. Ivan says:

    I’m glad you found a bird book. 🙂

    I like the ‘thing on a tree’ photo, too. Banksias are fun.

  2. azahar says:

    Was he sitting in an old gum tree? Might make all the difference.

  3. truce says:

    Is it a Banksia? Excellent, I like to know the right names for things and that had me stumped! Glad you liked the photo – weird things tend to attract my attention for some reason!!

    Good point Azahar, I don’t know the species of tree, but it was probably an old ‘glum’ tree even if not an old gum tree. hee hee.

  4. azahar says:

    “old glum tree”

    Ha!

  5. Ivan says:

    I must take a photo of the wooden mushrooms I have here. They’re carved from banksia seed pods. Useful things, banksias, if you ever need wooden mushrooms.

  6. psychocandy says:

    I would love to see some wooden mushrooms. I think mushrooms are neat.

  7. truce says:

    Yep, count me in on seeing the wooden mushrooms too – I’ll head over to your site now to have a look… 🙂

  8. Ivan says:

    No mushroom photos yet, owing to disorganisation. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

