Aussie Telly

I needn’t have worried, my favourite trashy TV shows (House, NCIS, Grey’s Anatomy, Murphy’s Law and re-runs of MASH) are all on TV here, too. Only we don’t get the Sci Fi channel with our current package, so clearly that’ll have to change…

But Aussie adverts, well… For instance, there’s an ad for sanitary pads where a girl casually asks her boyfriend to go in her drawer and pass her one (at which he doesn’t run screaming from the room shouting “Euuwww!”…) and another for tampons where a guy is buying them for his girlfriend in a pharmacy, looks down at himself and then asks if they come in larger sizes… neither of which they’d ever show in the UK, methinks.

Too embarrassing a topic for some reason, so its always referred to euphemistically, with women bungee-jumping and white-water rafting* and generally being ‘liberated’ and having ‘confidence’.

There’s also a regular Aussie TV ad for chain saws – again, not big on UK TV – and some pretty uncompromising ones about ridding oneself of domestic pests (not children; cockroaches).

*Activities which are top of your list when you’re feeling cranky and crampy because of your period, obviously.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aussie Telly

  1. azahar says:

    House trashy???

  2. piereth says:

    Azahar, agreed, agreed! πŸ™‚ It’s the only thing I watch, so, natch, I won’t admit it’s trashy cause that wouldn’t say a lot for my taste in TV….

    Truce, those ads sound hilarious. And refreshingly honest. There’s nothing quite as mealy-mouthed as some of the euphemism that goes on in adverts over here. Give me a good old chainsaw ad any day. I remember when I was over there Bob Monkhouse did the voiceovers for a whole series of Melitta Coffee ads – bizarre to har him on the radio. Lost in Translation? xxxxx

  3. Ivan says:

    My favourites are the adverts for herbicide and sheep dip. These don’t feature on Sydney stations, for obvious reasons, but we get them here in Canberra. Gosh, they make me feel like I’m in the middle of nowhere…

  4. azahar says:

    Sheep dip ads? Are they – gasp! – graphic?

    Damn, was going to say more but House is on in five minutes and I have to pour a glass of rioja and get cosy . . . *swoon*

  5. Ivan says:

    No, not graphic – there’s usually a drum of gloop and some healthy-looking sheep, and not a lot else.

    It occurs to me that I am, in fact, in the middle of nowhere.

  6. truce says:

    Ahhhh, back online at last!

    And I don’t know why I said House was ‘trashy’ – its well written, well acted, funny and poignant without being sentimental and hugh laurie is sexy in a wonderfully unobvious way. So I take it back, its not trash tv, its fab!

    Ivan, you may be in the middle of nowhere in the ‘real’ world, but you’re right in the centre of our universe here in cyberspace! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

