Baby animals and cheese on a stick

The four day Easter weekend has come and gone, and I enjoyed it.

The highlight was spending 12 hours at the Easter Show with my flatmate and her nine year old half-sister. The Sydney Royal Easter Show is an Institution. Its a bit like an Agricultural Show, only its for City people rather than people who actually work with livestock or crops. I could tell that, because the animal stalls were labelled.

There’s a Fun Fair. And a Demonstration Dairy Milking Parlour. And a Rodeo. And barns divided into little stalls filled with goats, sheep, pigs, cattle, horses and dogs. And endless stalls selling hot dogs, candy-floss and ice-cream. Basically, its nine-year-old heaven.

I remember being that age and promising myself that when I was grown-up and could do all the things I wanted without parents saying “No, its too expensive” or “No, you’re too young”, I would go on every single ride and eat candy-floss til my teeth fell out of my head.

Of course, now that I’m a mature adult (no sniggering in the back please) I went on just two rides -which were much higher, faster and travelled at more oblique angles than was apparent from the ground – and then felt slightly queasy. And after five hours of walking around in the sun I wanted nothing more than a sit down and a nice cup of tea.

My abiding memory of the day? Well, one could get a stick, dip it into a vast vat of melted bright yellow cheese, then – as it congealed – thrust it into another vat, this time of batter, as a coating. This was ‘Cheese on a Stick’, a local delicacy, but I’m afraid I got all middle class and turned it down. I could hear it clogging arteries as I shuffled past in morbid fascination.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Baby animals and cheese on a stick

  1. Piereth says:

    God, that cheese, batter, stick thing sounds appalling. I feel bilious enough and that’s only from the roast pork and crackling I had on Sunday. Blooo!

    I fancy viewing some open gardens and having a genteel cream tea afterwards.

  2. Ivan says:

    I’ve never heard of the cheese-on-a-stick thing. It must be a Sydney phenomenon. People are odd in Sydney…

  3. truce says:

    ooh yes, Open Gardens and a cuppa… bliss!

    Good point Ivan. And you should consider yourself blessed to have escaped Cheese on a Stick in your area 🙂

  4. Cheese on a stick, eh? I have the topper for biliousness factor: How about a nice deep fried twinkie? You take a hostess twinkie, put it on a stick a la corn dog, dip it in funnel cake batter, deep fry it and serve it sprinkled with powdered sugar with maple syrup for dipping. Wrap sugar in sugar and deep fry, serve with sugar? anyone?

  5. azahar says:

    Bleh. Had one bite of a corndog once and that was more than enough.

  6. psychocandy says:

    Mmmm ,cheese on a stick! Sounds good. I’m not such a big fan of fried Twinkies, but they do chocolate bars here the same way.

    Fortunately, Morningstar farms makes wonderful vegan corn dogs, so I once again can have the pleasure of indulging in those, too. Food on a stick is a prerequisite for outdoor fun. We have a big outdoor food fest here (which unfortunately is held in way too hot weather, so I seldom make it anymore), with pickles on sticks, frozen bananas on sticks, and just about any other kind of food on stick you can imagine. I wind up not eating at all for a day before and after one of those outings!!

  7. truce says:

    Deep fried Twinkie? Er, I think I’ll pass. Euw!

    Wassa corndog??? Is that the same as corn on the cob?

    Yep, food on sticks is a Very Good Thing. Especially ice lollies made from fresh fruit juice.

  8. azahar says:

    A corn dog is a deep-fried cornmeal-battered weiner ‘onna stick’ – vile.

    Here’s what they look like.

  9. Ivan says:

    Ah, I see. They’re sausages that have had a truly unfortunate (after)life. Oh dear.

    Pc, I’m imagining omelette on a stick, and that isn’t good.

  10. psychocandy says:

    I wonder how one could get an omelette to stay on a stick? Staples, maybe? It doesn’t sound good.

    Ice lollies (which are what I believe are known as popsicles in the US?) are wonderful indeed! Not far from my home is a small “factory” where popsicles made from fresh juice and pulp are made. Three of my very favorites are made from horchata (Mexican rice water), tamarind and red chili (cold AND spicy- awesome!) and mango. Yum!

  11. Jenny says:

    Sounds like a fun Easter weekend! Don’t feel bad about the rides … one of the first rides I went on in Disneyland was the Dumbo ride. Scared me a little bit … but I perservered and before you knew it, I went on the Matterhorn and loved it!

    Deep fried Twinkie would be something I would go for during pms time. Or a deep fried Snickers bar.

  12. azahar says:

    “They’re sausages that have had a truly unfortunate (after)life.”

    Nothing so distinguished as a sausage, Ivan. We’re talking hotdog weiners, or ‘weenies’ – totally tasteless tubes of mystery meat & chemical preservatives that are often fed to small children for some reason or other.

    Some great ice lolly options are homemade lemonade or iced tea ones. Fresh juice ones (orange or pineapple) are also very nice in summer. It’s quite easy to find the plastic moulds for them.

  13. Teresa says:

    Oh dear. Cheese-on-a-stick is a favorite at the state fair here, long lines form for them. Gah! I’ve never actually had one. But I think I may win in the weird fried food category — another delicacy at our state fair is . . . . deep fried pickle (dill, and yes, on a stick!)

  14. truce says:

    Eurghh, that is truly yukky-sounding Teresa!

    And, yes, why is it that we feed our precious children the worst foods (such as hot dog wieners etc?) Or the equivalent would be Turkey Twizzlers in the UK. Stop me if I start sounding like a Jamie Oliver mini-me…

  15. Piereth says:

    Don’t go there, it’s a rabid reoccupation of mine. Grrr! I could get really cross. Jamie didn’t go far enough, if you ask me!

  16. I feel I must issue a disclaimer here: I have never actually eaten a deep fried twinkie. I don’t eat twinkies either. the last twinkie I ate was when I was 11 years old and our school went to the Hostess factory on tour and saw how they made Wonder bread (I Wonder why they call it bread) and twinkies and were given them as samples. A plain twinkie is vile enough, when all dolled up to be deep fried they are just absolutely terrifying.

    I’m with Azahar here, I would not call a weiner a sausage. Once I heard someone refer to them as “tube steaks” which was an interesting eupemism.

  17. cer!se says:

    Erm… translations needed for us Brits – thanks for explaining what a corn dog is, but what’s a twinkie?

  18. azahar says:

    Twinkies look like this!

    Don’t ask me what they taste like – no idea.

  19. psychocandy says:

    Truce, here in Chicago our locally-made hot dogs are made from pure beef, and some are preservative free, so they’re definitely less unhealthy than something like sausage, or cured and highly carcinogenic crap like ham or bacon, which I frequently see people feed to their children. Ack! Of course, I only eat the vegan version nowadays, anyway, but the only meat I miss since I gave it up is a nice pure beef hot dog smothered with all the toppings…

    A Twinkie is a sort of yellow sponge cake filled with a whipped filling that resembles whipped cream but contains no actual dairy. I haven’t eaten one in years, but when I was having chemo, they were the only food I could keep down. Probably because all that artificial stuff blasted right through the system undigested. 😉

  20. psychocandy says:

    Just remembered a couple of other disgusting fried “treats” I’ve seen at outdoor festival type things. Up in Wisconsin, I went to a state fair where they had deep fried cheese curds. They looked disgusting- big greasy messes of congealed processed cheese.

    Another thing that I see around my neighborhood is called an Elephant Ear- it’s deep fried dough, similar to the dough they use in such disgusting things as doughnuts. People feed those to their kids, too. Yuck!!

  21. truce says:

    Deep Fried Cheese Curds???

    *gags*

    I think I ate (or at least bought and bit into) a Twinkie when I was in New York a few years ago – just because you hear them mentioned so often in films. I regretted it.

    Having said that, I am staying late in the office tonight (supposed to be drawing up storyboard sketches for a new book on Rainforests but clearly I am blogging) and I’ve just eaten an orio cookie which is another US thing which we don’t have tin the UK. Turns out, they’re not as chocolately as they look. 😦

  22. psychocandy says:

    I liked Oreos when I was a little kid, but no, they’re not really chocolatey at all. They also make reverse Oreos- yellow cookies with “chocolate” icing, and “Double Stuff’, with twice the icing. I was a bigger fan of the icing than the whole cookie, and quite liked them dunked and thoroughly saturated with milk. I haven’t had one in a really long time, though- I’ve kind of gone off cookies and such since I’ve Gotten Old.

    I distinctly remember some manufacturer made a similar sandwich cookie with a light green minty-flavored icing. I remember liking those, too.

    Why is it that youngsters like to eat so much crap? When I was in high school, I really dug on pretzels and other such things, and nowadays they have no appeal whatsoever.

  23. cer!se says:

    Thanks for the twinkiw pics – twinkies are not nearly as sexy as I thought they’d be (I was thinking more Mr Kipling’s fondant fancies – there’s an English cake if ever there was one).

    Now Oreos, I brought back lots of those from the US because they were something I’d heard of in movies, only to find them in UK supermarkets too. Funny, they tasted much better over there…

  24. azahar says:

    The original Oreo filling was basically lard and sugar. I believe this has recently been changed after a lawsuit against Nabisco.

    I don’t like cookies much, though I like a bit of shortbread at Christmas. And very occasionally M&S lemon cremes, fig rolls and hobnobs.

    If you’re making cookies at home for kids and cut the sugar in half they usually won’t even notice the difference.

Leave a Reply

