Petite

Don’t you just hate petite girls? I do. Not just skinny, mind you, but small-framed.

The ones with tiny little bones who can get solid bangles on over their delicate hands and fit into the cute little tops with quirky designs that they sell in kooky boutiques.

Not the girls who use cigarettes as appetite suppressants and then get 50% of their weekly calorie intake from Vodka and Redbull. They’re just skinny and I console myself with the secret thought that they’ll age badly. heh heh.

Alright, yes, I’m just jealous. Of course I am.

I have always been Amazonian, rather than Elfin. So even if I chain smoked like one of the aunts in The Simpsons and picked at my food I’d still be taller and wider than most women. And quite a few men.

Still, at least I can reach things on high shelves, right?

This entry was posted in rants. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Petite

  1. Jenny says:

    I actually saw a study that showed that women who are overweight, but work out regularly, are healthier than skinny women who don’t work out at all. We have to teach our young girls that being healthy is the goal- eating right, getting exercise, having a positive attitude – and not that being skinny is the goal.

    I just wish that they would make clothes for regular people – enough of the skin tight t-shirts that show every roll. No more of the ultra low rise pants that give anyone (even those with 3% body fat) a muffin top roll around their waist.

  2. azahar says:

    Two words … Michelle Pfeiffer.

    The epitome of petite and gorgeous.

    And I once met a girl in Bristol who could have been her younger twin sister (if you know what I mean). And to top it all off, Lucy was a lovely and funny and very caring person, as well as being stunningly beautiful and having the most pert little bottom ever (this was back in the days when women wore leggings with crop tops). And all of us other girls really wanted to hate her, but we just couldn’t. Meanwhile, every boyfriend of hers I met was a total asshole. *shrug*

  3. piereth says:

    In all the time I’ve known you you’ve never been anything but statuesque, willowy and lean. A perfect clotheshorse, if you will. If you ask these tiny little elfin wretches they might admit to wishing for a few more inches in the leg. It’s not all about being able to give blowjobs without lying down lol!

  4. Ed says:

    I’m in agreement with Trucie.

    Petite girls can be scarey. Especially the ones who appear to spend a lot of time tending to their appearance. They might look cute but I suspect that they have very long sharp teeth, and confer with the broad generalisation: look delicate, probably very very tough inside; look tough outside, probably rather delicate inside…

    Sometimes I feel some similarity between them and short men with moustaches. But then I never get the feeling that either of these groups like me either.

  5. truce says:

    You’re absolutely right Jenny, and it should be about health in its widest sense, too – not just physical which is the current obesession of our society, but emotional health too. I’ve said this before, but being a better person should be about being more kind, more generous, more tolerant etc, not just more thin and more ‘cool’.

    But yes, Az, I do know some lovely petite women and I don’t hate them – and I guess they probably have their own problems in attracting unsuitable men 🙂

    Piereth m’dear, you hit the nail on the head once again :))

    Ed, you know, its that kind of percetive comment that is one of the reasons I like you so much 🙂 And Olly B is another case in point – looks like a tough boxer but actually extremely kind and gentle.

  6. I have always been an Amazon, too. I went straight from being a little girl to being a size 14 mostly due to my hips. My pediatrician, who also happened to be the doctor who certified my delivery was the first doctor to give me a pelvic exam. He said, and I quote: “I don’t want to sound inappropriate here, but you are just built to be a baby making machine with these hips.” Little did he know. It apparently takes functional ova as well as hips to make babies. But that never showed up on my first pelvic either. Anyway, petite girls have always seemed just unfair.

  7. truce says:

    Yes, I find it truly amazing that anybody can be a size 8, let alone smaller. I don’t think I’ve ever been a size 8, even when I was 8 years old. I went stright from kids clothes to a woman’s size 12 – and even then I often find the legs and sleeves are too short. I mean, how do size 8 people fit all their internal organs in that little space??

    It remains to be seen whether any part of me is child-bearing… and its looking increasinly unlikely to be put to the test!

  8. hiswizardeyes says:

    ah, yes, one of my best friends i would say is the epitome of petite, which is mondo frustrating because she never works out or watches what she eats, whereas i’m at the gym doing karate and watching that i don’t drink coffee or have that special dessert (though sometimes i admit, i give in – it’s the college student’s way) – but still – i’m not the one making ice cream waffles. i content myself with the fact that i’m happy as i am, though, and that i can protect myself…if that’s any sort of consolation… and then, i have another friend who worked really hard to make herself petite – and continues to work hard…spending 3 hours a day at the gym at 110 lbs… is there no happy medium?

  9. truce says:

    I’m okay with them being petite, just so long as they have to work REALLY long and hard at it.

    But I think its better to be happy as you are and able to defend yourself too 🙂

Leave a Reply

