Menu Choice Envy

Okay, what shall I have? The chicken risotto sounds good, with asparagus and parmesan, or maybe the bangers and mash option, does it come with onion gravy and peas? Yes and no. Okay, so what about a steak pie and chips, or will that be too much at lunch? What are you all having? Oh, okay, right, I’ll have the bangers & mash.

*food arrives*

Awww, hers is much bigger than mine, and his smells really good and these sausages aren’t proper ones, they’re not the right colour at all. I should have gone for the risotto or the pie. Damn.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Menu Choice Envy

  1. azahar says:

    Solution – tapas!

    It’s always more fun to have 2 or 3 mini meals than one big one. 🙂

  2. piereth says:

    God I do this menu envy thing constantly – and as a result seem to choose the same old stuff in different combinations whenever I eat in a restaurant. For this reason I never order fish – cause the portions are rubbish.

  3. Ivan says:

    I tend to avoid the bangers and mash option, because the bangers might or might not be a terrible let-down (except at an ‘English’ pub near here).

  4. truce says:

    Oh yes, I love Tapas, except that it seems to be very salty in some restaurants and I’m not good with salt. But the eating two or three mini meals idea I LOVE!

    Mmm, me too, J, I have already become a regular at my local thai place because I always order the same things because I know I’ll like what I get. 🙂

    Dearie me, yes, Ivan, bangers can be a real disappointment. Some of them are too gristly, some of them are too artificial. But it makes finding good ones all the more delicious!

  5. I hate it when the menu envy thing happens. Not so much any more, since we tend to go to the same spots and the menu is not a mystery. If only we had tapas around here. That’ll be the day. This is a town where people say they Went Out to eat and you then find out that they went to Burger King. Oy vey.

  6. azahar says:

    Yes, tapas are usually very salty – I suspect that at least ten pounds of my excess tonnage is water retention. 😉

    Usually when I eat out I like to choose stuff that I don’t make at home.

Leave a Reply

