Temporarily Deaf

I’m temporarily deaf. At least, I hope its temporary.

I think it might be because I tried to decend too quickly to keep up with my dive-buddy at the weekend – equalising was a bit painful and I did get a slight nosebleed.

It has happened before and it usually wears off after about a week but this time I made the error of consulting t’interweb so now of course I have convinced myself that I have stupidly done permanent and irrevocable damage to my ear drums.

Time will tell I suppose…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Temporarily Deaf

  1. piereth says:

    I hope it is temporary, ears are stupid things, on one hand a marvel of design and on another uselessly delicate for the job they are required to do!
    Try working on your sinuses and eustachian tubes – olbas or karvol at night. This might cause things to pop back in.

  2. Ed says:

    be very very careful with your lugs sweetie. I experience similar problems and if you pop your ear drum, it won’t have been worth it… the nosebleed comment in the other post worried me a lot – you need to slow down, stay less deep, and discuss it with the dive master. i know the keen-ness and excitment and frustration with these carbon-based entities we exist in, and how they can’t do all the things we want them to do (sky-dive, sea-dive,fly etc.), but you have to listen to it…

  3. azahar says:

    “Time will tell I suppose…”

    Can you get it checked? Could be that the diving had nothing to do with it. Nog lost 80% of his hearing in one ear because he thought his problem was just ‘one of those things’ and didn’t go to the doctor until it was too late to do anything about it.

  4. truce says:

    Good advice, thanks m’dears, it is getting better and I will absolutely be more careful with it in future. Lesson well learnt this time.

    Although, there is a pod of dolphins in a bay near Manly at the moment, and I REALLY want to go and see them…

  5. truce says:

    Update: I’m not deaf anymore, the ear has cleared :))

  6. Ed says:

    get some of those wax earplugs for swimming maybe – helps with infections etc. which thus reduces the chance of blockages for the diving

  7. robodad says:

    Yay, glad its better. I was going to suggest sticking a banana in it. Then again, the “banana in the ear” treatment is my stock remedy for every problem.

  8. jim says:

    try sticking a rusty screw driver in ur ear next time.

Leave a Reply

