Living for Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow…

Yesterday I woke up in a lousy mood and it lasted all day. I don’t know why. I’m perfectly healthy, I haven’t buggered anything up at work, I’m not skint, and the sun was shining.

Then I went to Yoga/Tai Chi and the instructor remembered my name and smiled and asked how I was. So then I felt better.

Today I had just woken up and was lying in bed, warm & drowsy, when the phone rang. A good friend had called to see how I was and to let me know that all was going well in their world, too. What a wonderful start to the day. ☺

I wonder what Tomorrow holds?

This entry was posted in niceness, oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living for Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow…

  1. azahar says:

    Isn’t it odd how we can feel lousy when there is nothing obviously wrong happening? I know I often wake up ‘scanning for danger’ … a weird defensive habit I’ve had most of my life. These days I’m trying to train myself upon waking up to do that yoga ‘go up your body’ thing, stretching and feeling each bit, then look around the room (I have a lovely bedroom) and think of all the things that make me feel good. The smell of Nog making coffee in the kitchen, the cats scampering all over the bed after their ‘first brekky’, the way the morning light comes in through the balcony windows, the dawn chorus of swifts and blackbirds outside those windows.

    The problems and difficulties will still be there after I get up, but a gentle reminder every morning of what I have to feel grateful for seems like a much better way to start the day.

    I’ll let you know how it goes …

  2. truce says:

    Yes Az, that’s it exactly, and normally I wake up cheerful and fully cognisant of the many things I have reason to be grateful for, which is why it was so odd to feel so negative that day – I kept reminding myself of all the good stuff, whilst trying to locate the reason for the grey cloud hanging above my head… but I just couldn’t pinpoint it.

    In the end I decided that it was ‘just one of those things’ – probably hormonal and therefore not logically linked to anything external (other than possibly a surfeit of sugar in my diet the day before and a few too many late nights), so I didn’t push myself too hard at yoga and then went to bed early.

    That, added to the call from the friend, really helped. Sometimes I think lack of sleep is my worst enemy.

    Your morning and bedroom sounds lovely (Nog and cats and birds) – keep me posted on how it works for you. 🙂

  3. piereth says:

    I get this too – five minutes worth of sulking on waking and the day’s ruined.

    I have decided to take up yoga – and stick to it! And meditate! The people in my life will be so much better off!

  4. truce says:

    yes, yoga is brilliant – I’ve been going three times a week now for about 3 weeks and I’ve really noticed a difference. a) I can do a bit more of the poses and b) I’m am lot calmer in the evenings. Nice.

Leave a Reply

