Ibis: Ugly or Beautiful?

Ibis
I am becoming obsessed by these birds. Most people here seem to regard them as ugly, faintly scary picnic scavengers. But I think they’re beautiful.

Okay, so they have bald, scaly heads, long pokey beaks and they walk like old people.

But they have the most gorgeous soft white plumage.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ibis: Ugly or Beautiful?

  1. The Ibis is an interesting bird. It has a nice plumage but an ugly beak. When I was in Sydney I worked at the restaurant/kiosk in the Botanical Gardens. It was a continual race between the Ibis and the table-clearers to get to a newly vacated table. So much crockery was lost in the battle! On balance, I don’t think I like them.

  2. piereth says:

    They are extremely imposing when they stand up straight… I saw one at Cotswold Wildlife park which topped 6 foot.

  3. azahar says:

    Yes, I think ‘imposing’ is a rather good word for them – how tall are they when they stand up straight?

    Never having seen one in person, the beaks actually look rather elegant to me – then again, I quite like the look of people with, shall we say, ‘interesting’ noses.

    The plumage is definitely quite beautiful.

  4. piereth says:

    T, the pic of the ibis in the tree is superb, I know it’s a liberty but it’s currently adorning my desktop as the wallpaper…

    Looks like a mad cross between a turkey and a scythe.

    Azahar, I think I must have seen the bionic cousin to the ibis in T’s pics! It was well taller than me.

  5. truce says:

    Archie, that’s a coincidence – I first saw these Ibis as I ate a sandwich in that very Botanical Gardens cafe and was amused/alarmed to have to fend off a bird the size of a small dog in order to eat it in peace!

    Piereth, yes, ‘imposing’ is definitely the word for them and I am DELIGHTED to hear that you like the ibis in the tree photo enough to have it on your desktop 🙂

    Azahar, I, too, like people with interesting noses. Gives a face character. as for their height, these Australian Black and White Ibis are about 1 1/2 feet tall, but bigger species do exist as Piereth says.

  6. I think they are beautiful. But my mother always said beaty is in the eye of the beholder.

Leave a Reply

