Back Home

I’m back in Sydney and it really felt like coming home. So that ought to be odd, given that I’ve only actually been here for 5 months out of 35 years, but actually it feels right.

While I was away one girl in the office has been diagnosed with early stage breast cancer, one has ceased to be engaged to be married, one has bought a flat and one has handed in her notice. Honestly, you turn your back for five minutes…

I’m now looking for a new place to live, minus flatmates but with an extra room for friends to come and stay πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back Home

  1. piereth says:

    What a change a few days make! Seismic alterations in the office… I hope the girl with cancer has caught it early enough… Welcome Home, my dear! xxx

  2. azahar says:

    I just love that ‘coming home’ feeling.

    Good luck with flat-hunting.

    And come and add a trucie picassohead to the gallery, if you like (you too, piereth!) πŸ™‚

  3. piereth says:

    Azahar, I’d love to! Except being thick I dunno what a picassohead is or where the gallery might be… πŸ™‚

  4. azahar says:

    Oh sorry! It be on my blog … over here …

    az picassohead

  5. Oh, people just won’t keep from doing stuff, will they. welcome home.

  6. truce says:

    Thanks all! I now have my sleep patterns back to normal (i.e. I go to sleep as soon as my heaad hits the pillow, sleep like a dead person for 9 hours, then wake up just before my alarm goes off). Feeling much better πŸ™‚

  7. OmbudsBen says:

    I went to Sweden once for three weeks. When I got back to work in San Francisco and was digging through my email there was a msg from my boss’s boss, saying “for your upcoming trip to New York.”

    My inbox was arranged alphabetically, according to sender, so I saw that msg before the one from my boss, “volunteering” me for a damned workshop about getting us to do more with less and grin while we did it.

    Yes, it’s amazing what can happen when you turn your back. I ended up on 6 more flights in a week. On top of the four flights to Europe and back.

    I don’t know how people do it. I’ll forever be a homebody because of it.

Leave a Reply

