My hero: Cliff Young

I have a new hero and his name is Cliff Young.

I only heard about him yesterday, as I was warming up to take part in the 9km Sydney Bridge Run, but his story pretty much sums up my attitude to life (as well as one of my favourite Aesop’s fables)…

In 1983, 61-year-old potato farmer Cliff Young won the first Sydney to Melbourne Ultra Marathon footrace. Cliff arrived at the start with overalls and galoshes over his gumboots. He ran at a slow loping pace and trailed the leaders for most of the course, but he kept going and by running while the others slept he slowly gained on them and eventually won by a large margin.

Hats off to Cliff Young, ladies and gentlemen.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My hero: Cliff Young

  1. He was indeed a hero. An ordinary bloke who did extraordinary things. And remained an ordinary bloke. The quintessential Aussie. I too thought he was wonderful.

  2. And there you have the essence of the hare vs tortoise! Just keep plugging on while the rest of them are sleeping. I particularly like the image of this old farmer loping along in gumboots and overalls beating the slick Nike clad racers.

  3. truce says:

    Isn’t it wonderful?

  4. piereth says:

    True determination and no support – what a battler. A good example!

    xxx

  5. azahar says:

    Hats off indeed. Great story.

Leave a Reply

