Real Life Soap Update

Curiouser and curiouser indeed… Last night I was invited to have a drink after work with Married Guy and my friend (The Other Woman). Which was fine, I needed a shandy (no sniggering please) because I’d just found out that I hadn’t got the gorgeous harbourside flat I had applied for and set my heart on (of course in my mind I had already furnished it in impeccable if eclectic style and had my friends over to admire the view while I cooked tasty nicenesses for us all on the terrace barbeque…).

Anyway, we’re all sitting having a nice chat when suddenly Married Guy decides to up and leave – rather petulantly I thought. He almost flounced. Presumably we weren’t paying him enough attention or something.

She ran after him & persuaded him to come back and so I left them to it, assuming they’d patch it up and go off back to her new place together for the night as they have done for the last week or so (the whole “we’re not sleeping together til he’s divorced/has moved out of his wife’s house” deal predictably didn’t last), but apparently not.

This morning we had a 30 minute tearful (her) and consoling (me) conversation in a corridor here at the office (Dawning realisation: He is weak), followed by her leaving work before lunch to go home in tears, poor girl.

She asked me to talk to him:
“To give him some balls, he’s so spineless. He’s never going to leave his wife. He just doesn’t know what he wants. I need him to make a decision about what he wants.”

So I pointed out – as kindly as possible – that I thought he knew exactly what he wanted, which is to have his cake and eat it.

(Note to self: sometimes I’m too honest. This was one of those times.)

Anwyay, he and I had lunch. He tells me he’s completely over her and doesn’t appreciate being given ultimatums and so they’re finished.

I told him not to be such a prat and to grow up.

(See above note to self)

Then I had a delicious sandwich of Spanish marinated anchovies with rocket and a goat’s milk latte ☺

They’ve been texting each other all afternoon.

I know I shouldn’t allow myself to get involved, but I’m fascinated in that “Oh my god, other people can royally fuck stuff up, too, and I thought I was hopeless” kind of way.

Of course, I do want her to be happy – even though I do feel for her ex-fiance. Married Guy, however, deserves all the poo he gets.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Real Life Soap Update

  1. piereth says:

    God, what an OIK. Well, if she can’t see what he wants then she’s a bit blind – wishful thinking?

    However m’dear, if you tell him where his spine is he might start trying to reel YOU in, that would make the whole soap opera even more exciting / worrying!

    Keep us posted, I’m panting for the next installment.

  2. Jenny says:

    Holy Drama Batman! Sounds like these two need to go back to middle school!

    You know, Truce, the thing that I appreciate most in a friend is total honesty. You said the right things.

  3. piereth says:

    It IS refreshing when people tell the unadulterated truth. I don’t think you should ameliorate your advice – you were asked for it and you have a unique perspective. Go to!

    I have just seen a kangeroo narrowly missed by about 20 rally cars on a track somewhere in Aus (Ch 4 News), and it struck me that this is what being in the centre of an imbroglio is like – car dodging. Extract as much fun as you can out of the process!

  4. robodad says:

    As a man, I can pretty much speak with some authority that we are all ass-heads. Even the married ones.

  5. truce says:

    yep, Piereth, definitely beginning to feel like that Roo dodging traffic…!

    Jenny, yes, I give honesty because that’s what I expect to be given, but… (and I love the Batman quote – I TOTALLY fancied Adam West!!

    Ah, Robodad, I’m sure you’re a lovely chap 🙂

  6. Ed says:

    … so are you going to live with him then?

  7. truce says:

    Ed – nope. Getting to know him better has put me right off…

  8. ombudsben says:

    Good god, T. If I were you I’d be walking around with “there but for the grace of god go I” like a relieved mantra in my head, giving thanks each time I thunk it, too.

  9. truce says:

    I do, ombudsben, I do!

  10. ombudsben says:

    Isn’t it nice when life gives you something to be grateful for?!

    *grin*

Leave a Reply

