3am panic

Woke up, heart thumping and with a feeling of impending doom, at 3am this morning – my head full of work things I need to get done urgently… before someone twigs that I’m the bottleneck which is causing the delays.

Too few hours in the day.

“Work smarter, not harder” the man said. And I always listen to the man.

So I suggested to my boss that I be more of a colon and less of an appendix, if you’ll forgive the medical metaphor. She agreed. So things should soon just flow across my desk, via my email inbox, without my having to be the one that acts on every single one of them. I can simply review and get actively involved only where necessary to prevent constipation or big piles of shit.

Nice 🙂

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3am panic

  1. piereth says:

    wow, you really DO sound like me! No one can do everything. But you know how efficient you are at getting other people to do things (cf the Atrocious One at your last place…) so your suggestion did nothing but play to your strengths. Good one.

  2. truce says:

    Yep, feeling much calmer this morning. Not that the deadlines are any more reasonable or achieveable, but its Friday, so it all seems to matter less…

    Playing to my strengths, yes, but also allowing for my weaknesses – in particular my tendency to stray off topic when researching something, easily getting fascinated by something totally different and ‘wasting’ half an hour!

  3. azahar says:

    Leadership is the art of getting someone else to do something you want done because he wants to do it.
    – Dwight Eisenhower

    Well done, you!

    Now if I could just get that colon imagery out of my mind …

  4. ombudsben says:

    My uncle once told me that the trick is not just having a bright idea, but convincing the boss that your bright idea is also his/her bright idea.

    Sounds like you’re already there, T!

  5. piereth says:

    Hahaaaa! Ombudsben! UPMANAGING! A great skill, and essential in the annals of middle management….

  6. truce says:

    Dwight D hits the proverbial nail on the head once again!

    Upmanaging/manipulating… tomato, tomayto…

Leave a Reply

