If I were to heist a gallery…

v_van_gogh_wheatfield_with_crows_1890_sml.jpg

This is what I’d steal…

I love Vincent Van Gogh’s paintings because of the raw emotion with which they are suffused. He didn’t paint fields and trees and chairs and cafes – he painted longing and rage and despair and joy. His landscapes are truly alive. They breathe and move and beckon you in. The last time I stood in front of a group of his later paintings I found myself in tears. Those canvases quite literally sing to me.

Thanks to piereth at Castle Green Days for the idea…

What would you steal?

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I were to heist a gallery…

  1. piereth says:

    Lovely choice; it actually says quite a lot about the chooser! I agree with Van Gogh’ s emotional input – I’m hardly a learned critic but his longings and feelings just jump off the canvas, built up and encrusted in layer upon layer of paint. And he used such wonderful colours. Yellow, red, blue and green in one incredible picture.

  2. Ahhh, easy. I would heist the original of Dominique Appia’s “Entre Les Trous de la Memoire” (holes in the memory) poster. Such wonderful dissonance.

  3. OmbudsBen says:

    I’d probably start with a Caillebotte that’s now in Chicago’s Art Institute. It’s had several names, but I think is most often referred to as “Rainy Day in Paris.”

    And then maybe Vermeer …

  4. truce says:

    Links, people, Links – I need to see these paintings now that you’ve aroused my curiosity about them…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

