Families: a Rant

First of all, let me just say Nnnngggggghhhhhhrrrrraaaaaaaarrrrrrggghhhhh!

Yes, that is how you spell it.

I am thousands of miles away from any of them, but they are still managing to a) embroil me in their tangled lives and b) cost me money I don’t have.

And then, of course, despite the fact that my youngest sister forged my signature on a document while I was on the other side of the planet, its all my fault, somehow… possibly because I’m the eldest?

You would not believe the staggering self-absorption and self-righteousness of siblings who are used to being looked after by their elders.

I move from the UK at short notice and leave my siblings with:
1. a whole house full of good quality furniture, bedlinen, crockery, cookware etc to the sister with no furniture, bedlinen, crockery or cookware
2. the lease on a hard-to-find rent-controlled centrally located flat on a quiet street with a garden and secure parking space to the sister who was living in a squalid hovel on the outskirts
3. a car (taxed, insured and MOT’d for another 6 months) to the brother whose wife is about to have a baby and so needs a second car which they can’t afford to buy

Admittedly I also left a house rabbit who needed a home but he is house-trained, neither barks nor meows in the middle of the night, will happily eat left over salads, fruit and veg, and cleans himself fanatically…

Said siblings have:
1. sold off at far less than they were worth three solid oak bookcases to pay debts
2. broke up with boyfriend (who already owed me 2 months rent) and abandoned flat without cleaning it, failing to notify landlord or hand in keys til two weeks later… so yours truly loses security deposit and is threatened with legal action over the last two months outstanding rent
3. allowed said car to sit idle for 7 months so that its battery ran flat and letting the tax, insurance and MOT run out.

Fuming?

I say again: nnnngggggggghhhhhaaaaaarrrrrggghhhhhhhh!

This entry was posted in rants. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Families: a Rant

  1. That sucks.

    I really like the formatting of the first line. The spacing of the words for emphasis makes the post look truly brilliant. It may not have been on purpose. But, I love it anyway.

  2. azahar says:

    And Muddy? Is he at least okay?

    You know, there’s a very good reason I live on the other side of the Atlantic from my family. Sounds like you should be thinking about staying put in Sydney.

    *hug*

  3. Ed says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    Woo hoo hoo hee hee hee haaa hhhaahhaa aggh
    woohapa woohapa
    tee hee gurgle honk, oh stop it, it hurts, ha ha ha ha ha

    Rolling on the floor laughing…

    ha ha ha ha ha ha

    tee hee. gurgle. snort!

    A finer display of utter bamboozling uselessness would be hard to find.

    If you need help pulling the control back I am sure we can dig up some useful appreciative people in Norwich to help clear this mess up.

    And really: hard luck.

  4. Shimma says:

    That is disgusting, and really disappointing. I’m ashamed of them.

    We understand, these people are grown-ups, yes? And that they had the benefit of your generosity and have shat on it.

    I’d like to belt them.

    (This is my unedited reaction to your disclosures, and I’m not one to muffle my howls of disapproval as you know. Feel free to delete as appropriate!!! Your lovely bookcases!!)

  5. truce says:

    Thanks BGG – the first line wasn’t on purpose, but when I published the post and saw how it turned out I liked it so I left it, glad you liked it too πŸ™‚

    Azahar – Muddy (thanks for asking) is fine, he has been transported to the sister’s new flat and is apparently enjoying himself exploring his new territory… I am, of course, still worrying about him because he’s not getting any younger. Thanks for the hug πŸ™‚

    Ed – One of these days I’m going to write a book exposing just how utterly useless my family can be. Except that the world would not believe it. And I would probably end up in prison for defamation of character, if present family-karma is any indication…

    Skimma – I’d like to belt them all, too. Those bookcases WERE lovely. But I am being all zen and rising above it (apart from World Wide Web Rants, of course)

  6. Well, when you write that book, Truce, I would love to collaborate on it with you. I also have a useless family full of useless siblings, but at least they have only caused me stress and not cost me money. At least, not yet.

    Have some more of that chocolate.

  7. truce says:

    Thanks hmh, oh yes, more chocolate, definitely!

  8. Skippa says:

    Gosh.

    I had tenants like that once.

    Luckily, they weren’t family…so I could kick them out and burn my bridges and be done πŸ™‚

    Maybe they can do something to atone?

    Skippa

  9. truce says:

    Hi Skippa, yes, I’m hoping for more nieces and nephews as atonement! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

