Friends are Family

This Christmas I am – not for the first time – far away from ‘home’ and family. (I say ‘home’ like that because I’m pretty good at making my home wherever I happen to be, I settle in quickly and adapt well so Syndey is my home now).

This year I didn’t get a single card or present from a family member in time for Christmas – Australia is a long way away and the post can take weeks and everyone has busy lives… but still.

However, it was all okay because my friends are such good, kind, thoughtful people.

Jools managed to get me a card and two perfectly chosen presents in time for Christmas, even though she has a job, a husband and a small child. I admire her more than I can say.

Oly called me on Christmas Eve all the way from France for a lovely chat.

Ed sent me a text message which arrived on Christmas morning and really made me smile.

And then I spent Christmas Day with a couple of new friends (a Kiwi and a German) and their friends here in Sydney who were the embodiment of the spirit of Christmas: welcoming, warm, generous, and sincere in their hospitality. We had a lot of fun in a very relaxed way.

My family – especially my parents – tend to stress me out, so although I miss my brother and my sister-in-law and my sisters, I’m glad that I was here for Christmas.

This entry was posted in niceness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friends are Family

  1. azahar says:

    I didn’t hear from any of my family on Christmas Day (though I had a quick IM chat with one of my brothers last night). We don’t exchange presents at this distance, but I always make sure to send cards on time. This year I only got cards from friends …

    Glad to hear that friends came through for you and that you had a lovely and fun Christmas.

  2. piereth says:

    My dear, I’m glad it got there in time – must have posted it about the end of October!! Unfortunately for you there’s another linen meisterwerk in the series which I have bought for you as well – there is no escape from the queen of the kitchen gadget!

    xxxxxxxxx

  3. Miracle of miracles! I did see some of my relatives and it was a functional no stress Christmas. It should almost go without saying but I’m saying it anyway. In spite of this little “miracle,” I’m still not going to turn into a Christian.

  4. OmbudsBen says:

    Hear, hear — my friends have become the family I’m closest to, as well. Somehow, there doesn’t seem to be the same baggage that comes elsewhere!

    Happy pagan solstice fest — even if it’s a much more summery weathered solstice, for you! (Just remember, my days now get longer, whilst yours … )

  5. Oh, if only I lived in Australia! Or Fiji, or Costa Rica, or any place that was over one thousand miles from here. I just managed to get through this holiday season which was INFESTED with family members and celebrations, and miracle of miracles there were no giant explosions. Now I am looking forward to the New Year’s Eve party at our friends’ place up by Montreal and if we are very lucky my little sister will choose not to attend. That would make the evening perfect for me.

    Oh, can you tell that my friends are my family?

    Happy Solstice (again)! The great thing about solstice is you get two per year!

  6. Two quotes from Richard Bach

    “The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. ”

    “Rarely do members of the same family grow up under the same roof.”

    Have a wonderful 2008, my friend.

  7. truce says:

    All the above just goes to prove how one can have good friends, even without having actually met them in ‘real’ life…

    Az – I’m inpressed you managed to get all your cards out on time – I was late this year, and the great distance the cards had to travel made them even later!

    piereth – linen meisterwerks R us!

    Bobby – no, don’t go over to the Dark Side Skywalker…

    Ombudsben – thanks for the reminder *swelter*

    hmh – I hope the Solstice party up near Montreal was fun, can’t wait to see the photos!

    archie – wonderful quotes and thank you for the very kind wishes, my friend 🙂

  8. ME says:

    I had laryngitis today and this gave me a deep voice. At supper, I told one of my children, “I am your father.” Today! And, I read your comment today! Wowie! That’s some sort of coincidence.

  9. truce says:

    Did you add “I am your father, Luke”?? Or would they not get a Star Wars reference? I find that making references to Darth Vader dialogue to people who don’t get them is more fun than making them to people who do. But that’s just me.

  10. Ed says:

    a wise family friend (whose family found his coming out as a gay priest in the 1960s not acceptable) said to me once that your friends are the family you create around yourself. or something like that. i consider myself lucky to love and trust my immediate family (and some of the secondaries) beyond consideration.

    anyway – your family are famously mad. what do you expect? presents? on time?

    maybe that’s what the whole flat farago was about – a pressie from your sis

    (ed runs)

  11. truce says:

    *flings koala (pointy teeth and sharp claws) in Ed’s general direction*

    Nah, mostly my family are kind and good and I love them. They mean well, they’re just not very organised. 🙂

Leave a Reply

