You know when something is over-hyped?…

nye_fireworks_small.jpg

I was beginning to wish my friends hadn’t spent the last 2 months raving about Sydney’s New Year’s Eve fireworks display. They told me, repeatedly, that it is the best in the world and that it was a sight I’d never forget.

I really love fireworks. I mean, I really, really love fireworks. So I was a little concerned that maybe it was over-hyped and I’d be expecting the impossible – the kind of fireworks display that Zeus would have had, you know – and then be disappointed.

I’m no good at hiding how I feel so then I worried that my friends would see that I was disappointed by their fireworks and be upset as they’re so proud of them.

This is the sort of thing that keeps me awake at night.

But it was every bit as good as they said. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You know when something is over-hyped?…

  1. nursemyra says:

    *phew*

    you had me worried

  2. We had a fireworks free New Year in Punmu.

    From my balcony at home in the city I am a mile away from the main Perth display and from an elevated position, it is quite a spectacular sight.

    Not that it matches Sydney’s display. [mutter mutter bloody Sydneysiders mutter rotten show offs mutter mutter]

    Oops, did I use the great Australian adjective? Sorry πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Becoming An Aussie « Archies Archive

  4. truce says:

    nursemyra – its okay, worry not πŸ™‚

    archie – mmm, I think there’s a very similar adjective about London used by anyone who lives outside the M25… I dread to think how much of Sydney’s annual budget goes on those fireworks though…

  5. ME says:

    You mentioned Zeus. I have a story that includes a mention of Zeus.

    Someone convinced one of my kids that said kid is a Christian. This included convincing the kid that said kid believes in God. Another child residing in my household was a bit taken aback by the declarations made by the first child and asked “Which god is it that you believe in?” The reply was satisfactory: “Zeus. You know. The chief god.”

  6. truce says:

    excellent reply – always side with the Big Guy. Clearly a bright child, he/she will go far πŸ™‚

  7. Ed says:

    i’m not jealous. no i’m not. i don’t like fireworks at all anyway. not anymore. and i never wanted to see that show. oh no i didn’t. in fact, i’m really glad i didn’t. because i don’t like fireworks. at all. anyway. so there.

  8. truce says:

    We even had sparklers. πŸ™‚

  9. Ed says:

    and now i’m even more less interested. oooh look – there’s some paint drying. very slowly. i think i’ll go watch that.

  10. emily says:

    whats happen with “A Fair Go’ for everyone?

Leave a Reply

