internet dating – Ding! Seconds out, round 2…

Ah yes. So, I’ve decided to try internet dating again. I feel I should be doing something proactive to find a partner, rather than waiting for the man of my dreams to pass me on the street.

Especially since when men pass me on the street I tend to look away in case I… well, I don’t actually know why, now that I think about it, I just don’t generally catch people’s eyes on the street unless they’re elderly. Or unless they are a dog, I often speak to dogs that pass me on the street. “Hello there!” *Wag* *Sniff* *Smile*

And before I go any further, let me just comprehensively rubbish a couple of oft-repeated myths related to this subject:

1. That when you stop actively looking for a partner is when you find The One. I’ve been single for several years now and actively looking for only a few months out of that time. You do the maths. No really, I need a calculator to add anything, I’m serious.

2. That just doing the stuff that one likes doing will cause one to meet other people who like doing said things and that this will somehow miraculously morph into providing partner material. Okay, so the first part is true, and I have met lots of lovely people since I arrived in Sydney through bush-walking, swimming, yoga, running, scuba-diving, drawing, reading, volunteering, going to the cinema, camping, drinking shandy etc etc etc – but there is a major flaw in the second part of this theory… ALL THESE LOVELY PEOPLE ARE MARRIED OR ATTACHED ALREADY. Yes, all of them.

So, I need to find a decent couple of photos of myself and write some blurb about me for the dating site. Which is where you come in – any suggestions?

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to internet dating – Ding! Seconds out, round 2…

  1. piereth says:

    Well your last post gave you two fantastic attributes – dogwalking and procrastinating! šŸ™‚

    No, seriously, I’m sure there’s an art to this. What code do you write to avoid commitment phobics, emotional fuckwits, alcoholics, workaholics and married guys? There must be one, because it works for loads of people.

  2. azahar says:

    How about …

    If you are commitment phobic, an emotional fuckwit, alcoholic or workaholic, married (etc, etc) please DO NOT reply.

    At least that would give people an idea of what you’re not. šŸ™‚

  3. helen says:

    As far as what to say, be honest about what you’re into, beliefs, morals, likes/dislikes etc but as far as commitment phobes/married guys etc is concerned I think you’ll have to find that out by meeting them…. Am I being naive in taking it as read that those types of people won’t be internet dating…?!
    In my internet dating round 2, I used 3 rules which worked for me:
    1. Don’t enter into email correspondance with anyone unless you initiated it (it’s easy to feel flattered and get carried away when in the cold light of day you would never have chosen them to contact in the first place).
    2. Don’t get involved in a long period of email correspondance – meet them as soon as possible
    3. If after 3 dates you are not getting warm and glowing feelings about that peson then say goodbye and move on.
    Good luck and keep us posted, Hxx

  4. Skippa says:

    Start from what you *really* want.

    Someone to kayak with?
    Watch DVDs?
    Drink shandy?
    Life Partner or Sydney Shagabout? šŸ˜‰

    Then write a *few* words…

    Don’t put too much detail on the profile. And absolutely *never* put anti-male cliches on it! Focus on one or two good points, include a cute photo (crucial) and just have fun. Expect to kiss a lot of frogs šŸ˜‰

    Skippa

  5. piereth says:

    smithjan = spam, perchance?? Christian dating, now that sounds unmissable.

  6. wiccanwanderings says:

    Whatever, Truce; be kind to yourself, yes? You are such a great person, such a good friend, so kind and so considerate; nothing but the very best will do for you. I love you. Sending you the very best thoughts and directing the paramount man on the North Shore to *immediately* appear and sweep you off your feet! xxxx

  7. piereth says:

    OK, that was me. Other me! The sentiments remain the same! xxxx

  8. truce says:

    Piereth – yes, perhaps that should be my headline: “Dogwalking Procrastinator” or “Procrastinating Dog-Walker”…

    Az – that should definitely do it!!

    Hels – mmm, I do like your point 1, but have run into difficulty with it already in that none of the 5 people I contacted last week want to see me – they’ve all replied with the auto response to say they’re now seeing someone else (Which is obviously just polite for “No thanks!”). Plan B?…

    Skippa – Do any of us know what we really want??? Okay, good point though, thanks šŸ™‚

    piereth – yep, I deleted their Christian Dating arse! And I know your wiccan vibes to be of inordinate help šŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Keen Card Frustration Game

Leave a Reply

