Out of my rut

So, Sligoman did call me, after all. Which was a surprise.

Of course, he left it a whole week and waited til he was good and drunk to call, but he called. Wanted to come over and give me ‘a hug’ at 11pm on Saturday night…

…now, where have I heard that before?…

Anyway, for those of you interested in my love-life or lack thereof, Sligoman and I will possibly be going out to see a movie together later this week.

Oh, and I got promoted at work. Nothing to do with my love-life, but I thought I’d mention it 🙂

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out of my rut

  1. Movies are good – but promotions are better. Congratulations – I’ve been watching re-runs of “Executive Stress” on the ABC and my mental image of you is becoming very Penelope Keith 🙂

  2. piereth says:

    Well done on the promotion – I hope there’s a wedge increase to go with it!!?

    Sligoman – nil points so far for timing or attitude – e for effort, must do better! 🙂

  3. truce says:

    I have always loved Penelope Keith, ever since “To the Manor Born’, so I’m very happy about that mental picture Archie… 🙂

    Thanks piereth, and yes, they’ve thrown more money at me, too. Plus, they’re going to sponsor my Residency application. Plus we’ve just moved office (taken over the building next door) and I have a great big desk next to the windows and garden. Plus, noone can overlook my screen, so I can blog to my heart’s content 🙂

  4. azahar says:

    Wow, those are a lot of nice pluses – life just gets better and better. 🙂

    Agree with peireth about Sligoman’s timing and attitude – so far, not so good.

  5. piereth says:

    He may be a late starter – hope so!! 🙂

    Fandabbydozy news ref the desk, particularly – and the residency!! That is totally wonderful.

  6. Excellent news regarding your promotion! Congratulations.

    As far as Sligoman is concerned, time will tell of course. But. . . I dunno. I’m not sure I’d be planning a long term relationship with someone who calls me near midnight drunkenly wanting sex. However, there comes a time when one wants a cuddle more than just about anything and the life sized teddy bear just doesn’t do it.

  7. Congratulations on the promotion!

    My computer isn’t doing the things I want it to do as easily as I wish it was. Oh well.

    I saw “Juno” a while ago and it made me laugh a medium amount.

  8. ombudsben says:

    Trucie, I’m with the rest on Sligoman. Wherever it goes with you, any guy who calls acquaintances at 11 pm for “hugs” will probably be prone to the behavior.

    Have you given up on ther online approach? Do you check in at all, peruse profiles, write to anyone who seems interesting?

  9. azahar says:

    Okay, where is she??? On a slow boat to Sligo?

  10. Maybe on a slow boat with Sligo???

  11. truce says:

    Ah, sorry, extremely busy week at work – important scary people from our parent company over here for a week of conferences, meetings and presentations so I was shattered and had nothing to say other than “I need sleeeeeeeeeep’…

    But you’re all quite right about Sligoman and I decided that the temptation of finally having someone to tamper with was outweighed by his obvious potential to be less than a gentleman, so I’ve told Sligoman not to bother calling anymore.

    Back to the online dating drawing board then… 🙂

  12. Ed says:

    more on sligoman; we had a party a couple of weeks ago. it was fun. i met this lovely guy who is the on/off boyfriend of a friend of a friend. we got on great; i learnt later that they would break up, then he would call drunk/high/whatever late at night and she would cave in and let him come round. i know i’m a prude with ridiculous expectations of the world, but i think that’s out of order and it’s the same thing; presuming you can call someone whenever is simply careless.

Leave a Reply

