Weedy Sea Dragon

weedy-sea-dragon-small.jpg

The sub-surface world is often surprisingly delicate and vividly colourful; a little like floating in a watery jewellery shop.

This chap, for instance, is a Weedy Sea Dragon. He’s about a foot long and he swims around serenely – looking like a made-up creature from a fairy tale – in the kelp beds off the coast here.

I wonder what he makes of us.

In comparison we must seem pitifully ungainly and almost entirely lacking in both colour and pattern.

I feel rather sorry for some of the wildlife I visit. I want to give them something interesting to look at, too. But we’re so out of our depth down there – even with all our hi tech scuba equipment – that even our dancing looks like flailing.

Or maybe that’s just my dancing…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weedy Sea Dragon

  1. My goodness! That is colourful. We have nothing like that here in this frozen wasteland. Hmm. Yep. Even the water is frozen. So, thanks for letting me see that. It is much more cheery than the cold dark view I could have if I looked out my window.

  2. truce says:

    Sometimes, when just walking outside causes me to go red in the face and start dripping sweat, I LONG for a frozen wasteland.

    Not often, though 🙂

  3. ombudsben says:

    I read somewhere that weedy sea dragons find the flailing dance of northern loons particularly entrancing.

  4. truce says:

    excellent, I shall redouble my efforts next time 🙂

  5. azahar says:

    Oh, I saw some of those at the aquarium in Barcelona and also got a few nice shots. They really are wonderful to see up close.

  6. How amazing and beautiful! I love sea life, it has such amazing forms and colors.

Leave a Reply

