sun, sand, sea and plastic boats

me-kayaking.jpg

Sydney has to be one of the few cities in the world where one can simply decide on a sunny Sunday afternoon to hire kayaks, and then launch oneself out into the bay with gay abandon in the company of three friends, none of whom have any more idea of what they’re doing than you do. 

Such fun!

And the camaraderie of the water rather reminded me of the camaraderie of the road amongst motorbikers. Kayaks are the mopeds of the waterway, clearly, but gleaming people in gleaming yachts still nod and wave companionably as they power past, leaving you bobbing in their wake.

satellite map of our “route” (it was more of a dawdling meander)

kayaking-route-map.jpg 

This entry was posted in niceness. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to sun, sand, sea and plastic boats

  1. Oops, the map didn’t work, but I spent yesterday watching, and photographing, the shiny people in their little yachts – and my canoe seems to have a leak! 😦

  2. truce says:

    Archie – I’m having trouble recently with formatting my posts, especially links to images… I think it should be working now though… Your day sounds idyllic although I’m sorry to hear that you’ve sprung a leak!

  3. There seems to be a problem some WP users are having. It could be the dreaded “”div” html tag problem. I tend to copy (‘ctrl C) my text, go into “code” view and delete all the text and its tags and rubbish (leaving the image ) then paste the text into the “Code” view, go back into “Visual” and see if it has worked.

    Are your eyes watering and your brain overloading now?

  4. Jenny says:

    Can’t wait until I can spend a day at the beach! Send some of that sun up here!

  5. The pic of you works fine. The map still doesn’t. Whatever. I’ll live.

    Even though spring is coming here, I’m not quite sure I really want to know where exactly you went. It hasn’t quite arrived. Some people think it has. They aren’t quite right though.

  6. truce says:

    Darn that pesky map. I hate maps. Can’t read ’em, can’t post ’em.

    its a conspiracy.

    Tell the people who think Spring has arrived to try wearing Sandals outdoors, that’ll soon separate those who have the courage of their convictions from those that don’t…

  7. robodad says:

    Ain’t yew a cutie in that boat!

  8. truce says:

    thank you kindly! Nothing like a happy grin for improving ones looks 🙂

Leave a Reply

