The Six Foot Track Is Really Rather Long and Mostly Uphill In the Rain

I wasn’t at all sure how I was going to write about my hike along the Six Foot Track in the Blue Mountains of New South Wales over the Easter Weekend. 

It was 45km (28 miles) long, over 2 and a half days. We camped en route. 

‘Gruelling’ would be the word which best described it – the second day’s uphill 20km was unrelentingly tough, without much to distract our attention in the way of wildlife because of the ceaseless rain, although I did spot a very interesting colony of wasps under a big rock. 

One woman hiking with her husband broke her leg (the only person on the track with a first aid kit was me and the only pain killers I had were Nurofen, so you can imagine how comfortable she was til the emergency services reached her).

Another guy out with two friends slipped a disk in his lower back, and most people were limping stiffly because of raw blisters or aching muscles by the end of day 2.  

But still, I enjoyed it.  No blisters for me (those new boots I bought are a marvel) and only minor aches, which must have been due to the yoga performed outside my tent each night… to the mingled amusement and derision of those nearby.

Even more importantly, neither my hiking partner nor I lost our sense of humour.

As a general rule, when I’m suffering I like to do it in silence and by myself, so having to do it whilst maintaining a veneer of civilized conversation was a test.

And I have NEVER been so happy to see a cold beer and a plastic chair as when we finally hobbled down into Jenolan Caves. 🙂

This entry was posted in niceness, oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Six Foot Track Is Really Rather Long and Mostly Uphill In the Rain

  1. piereth says:

    Blimey, Truce, devotion to duty or quoi!? Despite the obvious atmospheric downsides you look happy, healthy, full of fresh air and vim and vigour.
    ps the clouds only follw you and rain on you because they want to nurture you…. 🙂

  2. truce says:

    I think the clouds only follow me because of my Irish blood, I obviously need to be kept damp…

  3. Ed says:

    good work! nothing beats a stonking hike. nothing better than proper boots either. bet your feet didn’t smell either…

  4. azahar says:

    Blimey, Truce, I didn’t know you were a masochist as well as a really tedious pendant …

  5. azahar says:

    hey, my 😉 went missing in that last comment!

  6. OmbudsBen says:

    I’m very much with you on how good the beer tastes after a long hike — or, in my younger years, after a good run. Lately, however, I’ve tried a shortcut. And, in foregoing the hike, the beer doesn’t lose too much flavor.

  7. truce says:

    Ed – yup, you and J would have loved it, especially the wallabies and kookaburras 🙂

    Az – you know me spookily well 😉

    Ombudsben – you may be on to something there…

  8. That’s … one heck of a hike. I’m not sure the reward of a beer would be worth the spectre of broken limbs and back injuries, but then, I’m quite the pitiable girly-man.

Leave a Reply

