Aussie Rules Football




AFL Match On The Pitch

Originally uploaded by norwichrocks

I went to my first ever Aussie Rules (or AFL) match on Sunday. I had almost no clue what was going on but I will share what little I did manage to pick up:

1. The pitch is round. That took me a good 10 minutes.

2. The Sydney Swans are, in fact, nothing to do with the Sydney Rabbities. Who, as it turns out, are actually the South Sydney Rabbitohs. And who play a totally different game in a completely separate league. Ah. Just testing.

3. If you’re a Port Adelaide supporter (either because your friend is from there and you want to give her moral support at this away game, or because you really hate red and couldn’t possibly wear it) then you will not get your head kicked in, even if you sit and cheer in the middle of a stand full of Sydney Swans supporters.

4. AFL players are gorgeous. I want one.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aussie Rules Football

  1. OmbudsBen says:

    I’ll bet they’d love to get fan mail.

    Every Aussie I’ve ever met who wanted to compare sports (and a quick mental count here might be enough to move me from the digits of one hand to the other) has always made a point of saying their players are more manly because they do not wear any padding.

    You might express an interest in verifying this, and doing your own in-person inspection. Modesty be damned. For research to be accurate, it must be thorough.

  2. piereth says:

    AFL is hilarious to watch. And so good natured! And the pies they sell at the ground are fantastic. Rat’s Coffin, they used to call them. With ketchup. Lovely!!!

  3. The Southern States are addicted to AFL. The Sydney and Brisbane teams are there for the Victorian expats. The Sydney Swans used to be South Melbourne Football Club. Regardless of that, AFL used to be a great game but in recent years they have been trying to make it similar to basketball and other similar namby pamby games. AFL always looks better with a bit of Biffo. Or maybe that is my convict ancestry coming to the fore 🙂

    And we have our rats coffins with SAUCE – not that yankee ketchup rubbish!

    Carn the Dockers!

  4. Jenny says:

    Might be a silly question … but is it like rugby? I found it funny to learn that a co-worker’s daughter played rugby and that her position was “hooker”. (I know it’s silly, but it cracks me up!)

  5. truce says:

    Ombudsben – that is precisely the kind of objective and sensible suggestion that I adore, thank you 🙂

    piereth – yep, ’twas amazingly good natured, I couldn’t believe that there were not only no fights, but noone even shouted anything more abusive at the ref than “Oi, you blind or what, ya galah?”!

    Archie – it looked pretty brutal to me even if it has been toned down in recent years (no doubt because players are worth so much money that its too expensive for them to get injured) but I’m with you on liking a bit of manly biffing! And the SAUCE was delicious… even with a mild caase of sunstroke…

    Jenny – well, I thought it might be a bit like rugby – the ball is the same weird shape and there are poles at either end of the pitch rather than a net, but that’s where the resemblance ends. Its much faster than rugby, and there are no scrums or rucks, or line outs. And the players are better looking!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

