WRONG WAY GO BACK

 

Australia has the best, most helpful road signs ever.

 

I mean, this is EXACTLY the information you need, right?  “You are going the wrong way”.  And the most useful advice. “Go back”.

 

Easier said than done in most cases, I grant you, but still.

 

I need signs like that for the rest of my life.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to WRONG WAY GO BACK

  1. azahar says:

    In that photo it looks like WRONG WAY – THERE’S NO GOING BACK would be more appropriate.

  2. truce says:

    Good point. Its a particularly hairy little bend coming off the road which crosses Harbour Bridge and it gets pretty busy in rush hour… once you’re on that bridge, ain’t nowhere else to go but down into the harbour!

  3. piereth says:

    … whereas in Britain it would be’Wrong Way – Don’t go back as you’ll cause an accident! Drive now for 30 miles up the hard shoulder till you get onto the news!’

  4. Jenny says:

    Sometimes I see a sign like that on my office door on Monday mornings …

  5. truce says:

    piereth – too true!

    Jenny – perhaps you should print it out and stick it on the door!

  6. Jenny says:

    I’m doing it right now. I’ll let you know if it works!

  7. David says:

    I have a GPS system in my car that talks to me, and sometimes, disconcertingly, it will say: “Please turn around, if possible. Please turn around, if possible. You are off route.”

  8. OmbudsBen says:

    One does get a little burst of adrenaline just looking at it and considering the potential options.

    Gaaaaaah!!

    David, I got a kick out of your polite GPS. I have a coworker who curses hers when it does stuff like that, and it seems therapeutic for her.

  9. Jenny says:

    Put the photo up on my door. Got a couple of chuckles! We’ll see what happens tomorrow when more people are in.

  10. truce says:

    Jenny – if that fails, I’ll see if I can find one of the “Beware Wombat Roadkill” signs – that should stop a few more people in their tracks.

    David – pity those things can’t be programmed with a ‘serendipitous-route-finding-via-infrequently-frequented-short-cuts’ button, then it would completely understand why you were off route and stop being politely disconcerting about it. Still, politely disconcerting must be infinitely better than impolitely disconcerting… just imagine how messy that could get.

    Ombudsben – mmm, it certainly gave me pause, and I was on foot. Much easier to back up on foot…

  11. David says:

    Truce — Actually the GPS has a hidden agenda. Supposedly the problem is that the software was installed two years ago and so it’s not current, but it frequently advises me to take a freeway exit that would run me headfirst into a huge concrete wall.

    So I don’t trust its politesse. It’s just lulling me.

  12. OmbudsBen says:

    I need signs like that for the rest of my life.

    Your sign reminds me of the romantic choices people make sometimes. But the problem there is that they don’t notice the wrong way sign until they’ve taken that route numerous times. As if it just appeared, out of the blue. And sometimes, by then, it’s already too late.

  13. LazyBuddhist says:

    For whatever reason, I look at that sign and I hear little Monty Python voices screaming “run away! run away!”

  14. truce says:

    David – aha, another machine with an agenda. I am making a list. So far it goes like this: the laser printer, the photocopier upstairs, the office air-conditioner, the oven in my flat (I suspect it may, in fact, be ALL ovens, but I am awaiting further evidence on this) and your GPS. They are clearly In League against us, with a dastardly plan up their collective plastic outer casing. You are quite right not to trust them.

    Ombudsben – a very good point. “Love is blind” they say, and that clearly applies to large signs telling you “Wrong Way, Go Back” because I appear to have skipped blithely past several…

    LazyBuddhist – yep, we should probably give the sign a shrubbery, just in case. 🙂

  15. Jenny says:

    Came into my office this morning and saw that the sign was taken off of my door. HA! Got a reaction!

    I wonder who took it off – poor coward couldn’t have said something to me first.

  16. modestypress says:

    I’m looking for a sign that says,

    RIGHT WAY.
    GO BACK.

  17. piereth says:

    Just thinking that there are very few properly ‘wrong’ ways. You are the type of person who chooses their path and takes the consequences and learns the lessons. Many don’t. Screw the signs!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

