A Water Dragon, A Deadpan Bird, A Spiky Ball and a Pregnant Fern

For your viewing pleasure:

An Australian Water Dragon sunning himself on the rocks next to a small pool in Sydney’s Botanic Gardens.

A Kookaburra watching us eat brunch.

A bunch of palm fruits which was about the size of my head.

And an eminently sensible way of reproducing.

Australia’s wildlife rocks.

This entry was posted in niceness, oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Water Dragon, A Deadpan Bird, A Spiky Ball and a Pregnant Fern

  1. pandemonic says:

    Oh! I love that palm fruit! It’s so unusual.

  2. Jenny says:

    I can’t decide which one I like best. I still think you need to create a book of photographs …. I would be one of the first to buy it!

  3. truce says:

    Pan – yes, it stopped me in my tracks, too. I’ve never seen anything like it. I suspect the fruits enlarge and go reddish orange as they ripen so I’ll keep an eye on it for an update.

    Jenny – thanks πŸ™‚ I think the Aussie Water Dragon is my favourite. The UK doesn’t have many species of reptile whereas Australia really does, so I’m constantly surprised at some of the critters I come across here.

  4. That palm fruit looks a lot like those vinyl chew toys for dogs. What’s the texture like? And the kookaburra β€” there’s mischief in them eyes.

  5. piereth says:

    Gorgeous – nature never ceases to amaze. Orderly and compulsively arranged – I wanna meet those in charge!!

  6. Ahh, the blue winged kookaburra. Indigenous to Eastern Australia but it has invaded the West πŸ™‚ The water dragon is nice – I had one as a regular visitor when I lived on the boundary of the Lane Cove Park although I never saw one where I worked in the Botanic Gardens.

  7. azahar says:

    What? Nothing poisonous??? πŸ˜‰

    Nice pics!

  8. truce says:

    Crumpet & Bear – smooth but poky πŸ™‚

    piereth – yep, clearly someone with a healthy sense of humour to complement their creativity

    archiearchive – you inspired me with all your wonderful indigenous widlife pics πŸ™‚

    azahar – nope, although I wouldn’t eat any of them!!!

Leave a Reply

