Arrrghhhhh! Shut up! SHUT UP!

Two of my colleagues – an editor and a designer- have been ‘discussing procedures’ with barely disguised hostility for over 40 minutes now, barely 10 feet away from me.

Twice I have fled the room to escape being dragged into the conversation and I am currently sitting here with my headphones on, hoping Thom Yorke will drown them out.

The worst of it is that I can see both of their points of view.  They have very different working styles and personalities – so different that they are just never going to work well together – and both want my involvement on their side to back them up.

All I want is for them to both shut up and get on with it.  Its only a f***king book, for goodness sake.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Arrrghhhhh! Shut up! SHUT UP!

  1. LazyBuddhist says:

    I also use headphones as an avoidance tool. Not only do they drown out nearby conversations and other such noises, but if they are big and obvious enough, they keep others away. I spend much of my day with my head down and my big old school headphones on. People don’t think I can hear or see them so they tend to wander away.

    Good look with being stuck in the middle. Arggg.

  2. piereth says:

    Sounds like my office. My stock phrase is NMP!!! Not my (fugging) problem.

  3. Oh boy! Better you than me – I am a complete woos when it comes to interpersonal disagreements. I would probably wimp out and suggest a market survey – and then run! 🙂

  4. truce says:

    mmm, today they are both being scrupulously polite to each other, with really big fake smiles plastered on over their mutual seething resentment… nice.

  5. modestypress says:

    My bosses periodically threaten to fire me. “With really big fake smiles plastered on over the … seething resentment.”

    Is this behavior an international virus?

  6. truce says:

    Mr Random – yes, I think it must be. Either that or its hormonally linked, since it seems to affect women disproportionately highly…

Leave a Reply

