Big Ol' Book

A friend recommended a novel to me about 6 months ago, Shantaram, with which I initially struggled but to which I finally succumbed and then couldn’t put down.

The friend told me that it was based on a true story, which intrigued me since the book’s events and characters are sometimes brutal, mostly immoral, widely illegal but almost always naively filled with that weird sense of ‘honour’ which seems to permeate literary genres aimed at men.

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to Google the author to find out more.

Big mistake.

He has long hair in a pony tail *shudder* and judging from his website he is even more charmless, arrogant and self-obsessed than the majority of auteurs.

I am appalled, mainly at myself – I knew I shouldn’t look him up. 

However, the book is certainly worth reading, though it would have benefitted from some heavy editing (without making odious and obvious gender-specific generalisations about males erroneously equating size with quality, this book is far too large and long). Then again, if I were his editor I think I’d have been too terrified to cut anything, too, he’s clearly a pretty scary bloke. 

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Big Ol' Book

  1. modestypress says:

    I think you have your own novel there, truce, about an editor who edits a novel for a really scary author.

    Perhaps she ends up trying to edit his life?

  2. truce says:

    Weirdly, I mentioned this to a colleague who happened to know the guy who published the book here in Australia. Apparently he has declined to publish the sequel because a) the author won’t allow editing even though the new manuscript is even longer than the first book which was biblical in its proportions and b) because he was decidedly unpleasant to work with. Personally, I remain convinced that the real reason should be c) he has a pony tail…

  3. pandemonic says:

    Oh! Sometimes it’s best to leave the information on the internet alone.

Leave a Reply

