Match-making. Or not.

Recently I met a British girl at a party.  She’d only just arrived in Sydney and didn’t know many people so I tried to be friendly and welcoming without being overwhelming or stalky.  Seems to have worked as we swapped numbers and have met up a couple of times since the party – I showed her where the shops and cinemas were.  

But I confess, when I first met her I thought:

“She is blonde and intelligent and classy and has decent sized boobs, therefore Running-Man Friend with Freud the Cat will like her, I must introduce them at the first opportunity.”

Which I did, on Wednesday night.  I even managed to forebear from nudging him and going “So?” whilst wiggling my eyebrows suggestively.

I needn’t have bothered, he didn’t fancy her.  Drat him.  She’s ideal.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Match-making. Or not.

  1. But isn’t it kind of nice to know that not all guys immediately go for busty blondes? I mean, just from a survival-of-the-species standpoint.

  2. Jenny says:

    Damn. I was looking forward to some good matchmaking stories!

    Perhaps you should ask out Running-Man friend?? Wink wink, Nudge Nudge…..

  3. modestypress says:

    You should have told him that she is awful and no end of trouble.

  4. truce says:

    David – well, yes, it is reassuring, but in my experience (as a tall blonde), most men actually prefer petite brunettes… 😉

    Jenny – nope, Running Man Friend is the guy whose family I really like, and he’s a good friend, but I don’t fancy him in the least. He has long fingernails.

    Mr Random – good point. Psychological games are not my strong suit, but even I should have been able to figure out that would have been more effective!

  5. piereth says:

    What is it with these men?! Usually predictable, the one you crash up against seem to have minds of their own! Wass the world coming to etc! 🙂

    You can lead a horse to water. But you can’t make him snog a blonde.

  6. pandemonic says:

    I’ve tried matchmaking. I didn’t make it.

  7. truce says:

    piereth – right. damn and blast them.

    pandemonic – yes, you can get awful burns from the phosphorus… 😉

Leave a Reply

