Warm Date. Not exactly hot, but certainly less cool than tepid.

Tonight I have a dinner date with a man I contacted a couple of weeks ago via the online dating thing.  We met properly last weekend for a coffee and I didn’t immediately loathe, abhor and despise him or myself, which is reasonably astonishing.

So, who is he?  He is half Dutch and half Aussie, has a post grad degree in Physics, works for an engineering firm, has an enthusiastic dog with whom he goes running in the evenings, is 6′ 5″ tall, has a dry sense of humour and an appreciation of the ridiculous, and so far, doesn’t appear to think I’m particularly odd.  Which is nice.

Even better, he asked me to dinner and suggested a cosy Thai place in Newtown (Sydney’s Soho), which I have convinced myself shows hitherto unsuspected depths of sympathy for the off-beat and slightly creative. 🙂  He also checked to see if I would be able to reach it easily, given that I don’t have a car here.

He’s a paragon.

He’ll probably turn out to be an axe-murderer.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Warm Date. Not exactly hot, but certainly less cool than tepid.

  1. piereth says:

    Sounds moderately wonderful, actually. Even paragons must have a dark side – if his is dismemberment, then I guess we’ve got some work to do!
    🙂

    I hope you have an authentically wonderful evening.

  2. I didn’t think there were really that many axe murderers around. Hope you have a wonderful time.

  3. Hey, I’ve murdered a number of axes! That leads to cold evenings due to a lack of wood. You can’t chop the wood if the axe is broken, you know.

    Oops, I seem to have strayed from the subject in hand.

    Have a fun outing. 😉

  4. pandemonic says:

    Axe murderers are cool. Just never turn your back to the dude.

  5. modestypress says:

    My mother grew up on a farm in Indiana. She told me that when she was a child one of their farm neighbors murdered his family with an axe. This has nothing to do with your date, but I’ve never had a chance to mention that my family history has a tangential connection to a real axe murderer as opposed to a fantasy or hypothetical one.

    An aunt of mine (by marriage) was murdered when she was a college student, though I think the method was strangulation. All the family-related homicide I know of off-hand.

  6. truce says:

    piereth – I did, I did!

    hmh – neither did I, but one can never be too careful. and thanks!

    archie – good point. And with the weather we’re having, chopped wood is vital.

    pandemonic – well, not until I know him better at least, eh? 😉

    Mr Random – gruesome. I got off lightly.

  7. piereth says:

    Well, where’s the details then? You’ve got an audience to feed here, you know!! 😉

  8. Jenny says:

    Yes Truce! Details! Details!!!!

  9. This is totally off topic, but last night my mother and I were discussing the inherent uncouthness of the old rhyme that goes:

    Lizzie Borden took an axe
    And gave her mother forty whacks.

    I mean, c’mon. “Whacks?” But there’s not a lot that rhymes with axe, I guess. Though I’d prefer something like:

    Lizzie took an axe to Pops
    Did him in with forty chops
    Saw Mama, that dour dame
    Hauled right off and did the same.

  10. truce says:

    when I was 14 I had a book about (in)famous murderers. Lizzie Borden was among them and I was gruesomly fascinated by her. It occurs to me now to wonder what my parents made of that at the time…

  11. Ed says:

    checking to see if you can get there easily rings a little odd; kind, but odd. peerhaps that is a good thing…

  12. truce says:

    good point, but I’m hardly in a position to baulk at people being a little odd… 😉

Leave a Reply

