You'd think I'd have learned by now…

Note(s) to self: 

[the kind of note which ought to be tattooed on my forehead and painted in foot-high letters of blood on my living room wall]

1. If you eat sugary crap, you will feel like crap and and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.  

2. If you don’t get enough sleep – by which I mean 8 hours a night minimum – you will feel like crap and and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.

3. If you don’t exercise every day, you will feel like crap and and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.

4. If you don’t spend some time every day outdoors, you will feel like crap and and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.

5. If you stay in on a Friday night alone and watch movies like ‘Love, Actually’, you will feel like crap and and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.

6. If you set your alarm, but then turn it off and roll over and doze for another 30 minutes before actually getting up, you will feel like crap and be liable to burst into tears for no immediately apparent reason.

~~~~~

After a good night’s sleep, a couple of balanced meals incorporating vegetable matter and protein, and getting up early to take part in a 7km run/stagger/walk around the Harbour yesterday, I feel better.

The hugs helped, though; thanks blogosphere friends.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You'd think I'd have learned by now…

  1. azahar says:

    And sometimes you just need to burst into tears for no apparent reason.

    Never lasts forever.

    Glad you’re feeling better.

  2. jiva says:

    and because you’re half way round the world away from family, you’re likely to burst in to tears because you miss them.

    All very valid points and well noted. I’m very tempted to book mark this for the next time I burst in to tears for what appears to be no apparent reason.

    There are meany reasons not to be ballanced and hold it together. Its tougher to keep it together than most people ever want to admit, let alone allow themselves to accept is part of their lives. I’m starting to get used to feeling like a rabit caught in the headlights. I’ll get over it.

  3. pandemonic says:

    Agreed.

    Actually, on #5, don’t watch “PS I Love You.” I didn’t eat and sugar before it but I still felt like crap.

  4. modestypress says:

    Anyway, I think that tears it. I don’t know if Scotch tape works that well for that kind of tear.

    Crap.

    Well, only if you are constipated.

    Sending whatever hugs and good vibes I can from Puget Sound to Oceana. I marked them “fragile”; I hope they they get there intact.

  5. truce says:

    Azahar – yes, I keep telling myself “this, too, will pass” which does help, even in the midst of the anguished sobbing! 🙂

    jiva – well, I miss my brother and sisters… and if this post helps you next time you burst into tears for no apparent reason, that will make me feel better so bookmark away! You’re right, acceptance is the key.

    pandemonic – good tip, thanks, I’ll avoid it as though it was a plague-bearing rat 😉

    Mr Random – luckily, constipation is one of the things I can count myself lucky not to suffer from! 😉 The parcel arrived safely, thanks, and not only were they all intact, they were even the right way up on arrival. I wonder who Mr Puget was??

  6. Ed says:

    all excellent points and i concur. although i don’t burst into tears, i sulk and start beating myself up, which is doubly annoying. tears might be better. i’ll try harder to cry.

  7. modestypress says:

    Ed makes a good point. I have noticed that many women when angry cry, and that many men when sad beat someone up. This is a stereotype, so feel free to depart from it. Departures leaving every 37 minutes.

    Mr. Puget kept smelling bad things.

  8. Jenny says:

    Good cries do sometimes make you feel better, don’t they?

    And why is it that “they” are always right … healthy eating, exercise and sleep are what makes our body feel better. Why can’t someone find some evidence that chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream will do the trick???

  9. truce says:

    Ed – oh, I beat myself up, too – usually after bursting into tears for no immediately apparent reason. But its completely counter-productive. Let’s both agree to give ourselves a break, maybe that will help 🙂

    Mr Random – Ed invariably makes good points. As do you. Poor Mr Puget, one can’t help but feel for him.

    Jenny – I’m not sure if it makes me feel better. In fact, I don’t think it does. I’d much rather not cry for no reason 🙂 But I, too, wish that some clever scientist-type person would turn their brain to the vital task of producing a fat-rich chocolate covered foodstuff which was good for the health. It would make life so much more fair!

  10. piereth says:

    Crying is peace, healing, removal of the cankering sores in our minds and hearts; it’s exercise for the soul, and necessary to prevent us exploding with surpressed ugsomeness. Cry. Cry anyway, whether you eat well, go running, go out in the fresh air or not.

    It’s laughing plus tears – an expression of emotions that can’t be verbalised.

  11. truce says:

    I love that last sentence so much I think I want it on a t-shirt. Positvely epigrammatic. 🙂

  12. piereth says:

    Just call me the luvly Ms E P Gram!

    xxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

