Kookaburras on my balcony

I left my breakfast out on the balcony and went to answer my phone yesterday – came back outside 3 mins later to find these two eyeing my toast greedily.

Still, they look – and sound – so wonderful I forgave them and fed them a few apricot marmalade crusts.

I’ll probably be Tippi Hedren in The Birds by next weekend, mobbed by sugar-maddened Kookaburras.

This entry was posted in niceness, oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kookaburras on my balcony

  1. modestypress says:

    I’m eyeing your toast greedily as well, but I can’t quite reach that far.

  2. Isn’t it wonderful when wild birds come to visit. I have only ever had one kookaburra come visit my balcony but it was a great experience. Perhaps I should have fed it – – –

  3. truce says:

    Mr Random – BACK AWAY FROM MY TOAST, HANDS UP WHERE I CAN SEE ‘EM…

    Archie – I can recommend wholegrain toast with apricot jam as an effective Kookaburra attractant 😉

  4. azahar says:

    How adorable! Except now I have that kid’s song in my head about the Kookaburra sitting in the old gum tree.

    I had a Tippi Hendren moment once at the Alhambra in Granada. Nog and I were sitting outside the Parador hotel enjoying a cold beer on the terrace (we were the only people out there) when a couple of sparrows came around, so we started tossing them some of the complementary nuts that were on the table. Within about five minutes we were totally surrounded by sparrows that suddenly seemed to have an evil glint in their beady little eyes. Unfortunately this was pre-digital camera and I had just run out of film so I didn’t get any shots of it. But it were spooky!

  5. truce says:

    Az – woah, certainly spooky!

  6. I always thought that kookaburras were a small rodent like a cross between a rat and a gopher. Imagine my surprise.

Leave a Reply

