Cicadas Say it's Summer

Summer is officially here (which means it is officially over for the northern hemisphere, sorry). I heard my first cicada of the season chirring persistently (and probably somewhat optimistically given that I don’t think there are any lady cicadas awake yet for him to get it on with) on my walk home tonight, I am scuba diving for the first time this season tomorrow and I wore a skirt without stockings, open-toe sandals and no jacket to work this morning for the first time in months.

It feels good.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cicadas Say it's Summer

  1. Jenny says:

    Happy Summer! I hope you enjoy every bit of it!

    It’s the beginning of autumn here… the trees are gorgeous! The air is fresh and crisp and school is underway. This is my favourite time of the year!

  2. piereth says:

    Gor blimey, what we all couldn’t do with a bit of opentoed weather!

    Bless you babes – I hope the Summer is balmy and sweet for you!

    Our trees around work are looking like a Fauvist masterpiece – must be the cool nights. I love Autumn.

  3. modestypress says:

    Well, be careful. You might get wet.

  4. pandemonic says:

    Hmm… Summer is over here. I think I should move to Australia for six months. It seems the sensible thing to do.

  5. LazyBuddhist says:

    Feh. You can have Summer. I’m glad it’s over. I’m not a big fan of the heat as I tend to sweat in places, well . . . never mind.

    I do love the Fall though, and my yard is filled with dead leaves and temperatures are getting a bit cooler. Yay! Sweater season. Perhaps we should swap hemispheres every six months or so.

  6. Summer ended today here. Like right now, overnight. It is now cuddly cat-snuggling season, complete with extra blankets, warm socks, a pot of tea, and a cozy fire.

    I guess you can probably tell that I’m not really a fan of hot weather.

  7. azahar says:

    It’s still sandal weather here. I hate wearing shoes so I’m glad I only have to do so about four months out of the year.

    Isn’t it great wearing skirts without stockings and shoes?

  8. OmbudsBen says:

    Spring! you get credit for Spring! It’s just turned Fall here, and I’ve got some autumnal plans, thangqueverimuch, before it turns to Winter, and when it’s Summer there it’s Winter here.

    Let’s not have any off-half cocked going!

  9. truce says:

    Interesting how the human race is split into those who like hot weather and so prefer Summer and those who like cooler weather and so prefer Winter. Or at least Spring and Autumn.

Leave a Reply

