Inspire me

This photo illustrates perfectly why I love scuba diving.

Where else would you be able to get this close to a completely wild animal this large and this curious?

It also – now that I think about it – illustrates why I love National Geographic.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Inspire me

  1. pandemonic says:

    Oh! I know how some people like it. I have a sister who regularly goes to places like Tahiti to scuba, but I’m afraid of outside water. (Pools, I can handle.) It could be because I was almost drowned twice.

  2. azahar says:

    Wow. What a great photo.

  3. Good heavens. I don’t think I want to get close to a wild animal that large, especially if it’s curious.

  4. piereth says:

    Galloping gesundheit – what an amazing photograph!

    It’s like the world’s largest black and white dog.

    Either the guy’s just breathed out or farted in terror. Nice bubbles! 🙂

  5. truce says:

    Pandemonic – the weird thing about scuba diving is that it doesn’t feel like you’re underwater – you don’t feel wet and you can breathe normally unlike with swimming on the surface, so its almost more like flying. You’re able to move in 3 dimensions, rather than just on a flat plane like on land, and everything is slowed down to a very zen pace – no noise except your own bubbles. Its dream-like. And I think you need to post about how you were almost drowned twice!

    azahar – yes, isn’t it amazing?

    David – I want to, sooooooo badly.

    piereth – exactly! the photographer said this one whale carefully came within inches of him and his assistant several times, and just looked them over curiously. They’re off the coast of New Zealand so the whales aren’t really used to humans or boat traffic out there. I like that it was as interested in him as he was in it.

  6. jonijavier says:

    Wow, that’s so amazing!! I just started diving, and I’m already so deeply in love! 🙂 Oh and I’m also a huge fan of Nat Geo. 🙂 My granddad, who passed away before I was born, introduced me to Nat Geo because he left behind this huge collection of magazines from the 70s.

    Anyway, love the photo! 🙂 Cool that I stumbled onto your blog.

  7. truce says:

    Fantastic, I’m so glad you liked the photo and that you’ve been hooked by diving 🙂 glad you stopped by, too, hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

