In Which I Do Not Mention Mr Obama's Historic Victory… oops, except for that mention

1. So, in an attempt to relieve my current skint-ness (entirely my own fault – I budgeted carefully and then blew $230 at a nursery buying Aussie native plants and pots for my balcony) I have listed some of my life drawings of female and male nudes for sale on eBay.  I have no idea if they will sell, or for how much if they do.  We’ll see.  I’m looking on it as an experiment for a week so please wish me luck and generous art-loving suckers punters.

2. We’re filling shoeboxes at work next week as part of Operation Christmas Child; an organisation which sends packages of various sorts to children in disadvantaged areas of the Eastern Pacific.  My shoebox partner and I have been tasked with providing “toys and games for 10-14 year olds” for example – and I quote – ” tennis ball, teddy bear, car, skipping rope, marbles, musical instrument, yo-yo, finger puppets, wind-up torch (nothing that needs batteries)”.  Maybe I’m being absurd, but teddy bears and finger puppets?  For 10-14 year olds?  I’d have thought that condoms would be more appropriately practical as well as more fun given how fast kids grow up these days/in out of the way places…  Also, unless the shoebox belonged to The Jolly Green Giant I fail to see how we’re supposed to fit a car in it.

3. If you can get hold of a copy of ‘The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay’ by Michael Chabon, I urge you to read it.  It is a beautifully told story and deservedly won the Pulitzer in 2001.  I only wish it had pictures because I’m desperate to see Kavalier’s Escapist.

4. Pint-Sized Martial Arts Woman who sits nearest me in the office quite fancies a guy in the bike shop where she bought her bike.  She wrote a postcard asking him to call her if he’d like to go out for a drink sometime and posted it on Monday.  So far, no response – but he may not have received it yet as he presumably works shifts and he may be waiting til home time until he calls, to avoid potential workplace embarrassment among his hooligan colleagues.  We talked about it before she posted it – I urged her to go for it, reasoning that the worst that could happen would be that he’d turn out to be either gay or married with 6 children, and in either case he should still be flattered.  We agreed it didn’t constitute stalking since it is precisely the kind of behaviour every woman I know consistently wishes that more men engaged in.  I’d do it myself if I ever met any men I was remotely interested in over here.  Or at least, I hope I would… I might actually wuss out if put to the test 😉

P.S. President-Elect Obama’s victory speech brought a lump to my throat.  Its about bloody time that at least one of the Western Democracies elected someone other than a Middle Class caucasian.  I sincerely hope he and his administration will be able to live up to the enormous expectations of them without developing either a Messianic Complex à la Tony Blair or a stomach ulcer the size of Wisconsin.

P.P.S. I also admire the grace with which Senator McCain conceded defeat and urged his supporters to work with the new President to help America back to her feet.

This entry was posted in books, films, music, niceness, oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In Which I Do Not Mention Mr Obama's Historic Victory… oops, except for that mention

  1. David says:

    Couldn’t the condoms double as finger puppets, in an emergency? I mean, that’s the explanation you could give for putting them in the box.

  2. OmbudsBen says:

    He won, he won, he won!

    Woooooooooo hoooooooooooooo!
    Woooooooooo hoooooooooooooo!

    He won, he won, he won!

    After 8 miserable years, a President we can be proud of!

    Woooooooooo hooo hooooo hoooooo!
    Wooo hooo woooo hoooo woooooo hoooo!

  3. modestypress says:

    or a stomach ulcer the size of Wisconsin.

    I lived in Wisconsin for over a year when I was in high school. I was not especially happy at the time. Perhaps my gloom was the result fo living in a stomach ulcer.

  4. truce says:

    David – perhaps if I paint little faces on them?…

    Ombudsben – 🙂 You are rightly proud.

    Mr Random – sounds like you have the incontrovertible evidence to prove that must be the case. I’m sure there must be someone you can sue over it. An Ulcer Oversight Committee or similar.

  5. I am over the moon that Barack has won. His speech was the best thing I have heard from a leader – ANY leader – in the past 40 years. My only concern is the depressing regularity with which Americans dispatch their orators.

  6. OmbudsBen says:

    Archie, I have to say that throughout his campaign appearances, I was kinda holding my breath. He kept addressing huge crowds in public open spaces, and I wondered how they could be secured.

    At this point, I wish they used something like the Popemobile.

  7. Kym says:

    I’ve a 15 year old and I have to say that anything remotely resembling a finger puppet (unless it had some bawdy undertone) would be sneered at. Perhaps a cute stuffed animal a la beanie babies might cut it–for girls especially. How about puzzles like Rubik’s cubes?

  8. truce says:

    Archie – yes, exactly. He needs to steer clear of theatres and grassy knolls for a start…

    Ombudsben – the Obamabile, I like it 🙂

    Kym – good tip on the rubik’s cubes and cute beanie babies, thanks!

Leave a Reply

