Torch

I really thought I’d put it down somewhere along the road a while ago, after the flame eventually succumbed to all the cold water my rational self had been sensibly throwing on it, but no, it turns out that my hopelessly irrational self had been surreptitiously puffing at it every once in a while, breathing the tiny flame back to life. So, yes, still holding this damn torch even though I realise it makes me look stupid as well as being an awkward accessory when meeting new people.

But, you know, on the positive side at least I have indisputable proof of one of my talents: my torch-bearing arm is seemingly Herculean.

If only one were ever richly rewarded for being a Loyal Torch-Bearer.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff, unrequited and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Torch

  1. Fugitive Pieces says:

    I imagine you’ll be the Go-To Girl for training torch-bearers in London 2012. Shame you moved hemispheres. But apparently there are some rich rewards for Australians coaching mal-coordinated Englishmen, and you’re certainly experienced in the field.

  2. azahar says:

    Human Rights & Lap Dancing?

  3. truce says:

    Fugitive pieces – oh, yes, I have trained some malcoordinated Englishmen in my time alright.

    Azahar – yeah, what’s with that?

  4. piereth says:

    Still, darling? Can I be of any assistance? I do worry so, and I love you to pieces xxxxxx

  5. truce says:

    Piereth – bless your kind heart. Nothing to be done, I suspect, except wise and sensible things… at which I do not excel. Email on its way.

  6. Joan Baez sang it all;

    “I finished my bottle of Germany’s best
    And concluded my thoughts on the past
    That love is a pain in the ass “

  7. Michael the little boot says:

    I decided to forgo the whole torch thing and just set my hair on fire. That way I don’t have to put in much effort to keep it going. Plus, both my hands are free.

  8. OmbudsBen says:

    Trucie, chin up, dearheart.

  9. truce says:

    Archie – in vino veritas

    Michael – an excellent plan, it appeals to my practical side. As well as to the side which can rarely be bothered to brush my hair in the morning…

    Ombudsben – oh yes, chin up, shoulders back, upper lip stiff, eyes resolutely closed 😉

Leave a Reply

