Insect CSI

Last night when I got home there was a small black insect on the wall just above the head of my bed. I peered at it closely: it looked a little like a cross between a large ant and a small, black praying mantis*.

Anyway, I decided it looked harmless (to me) and left it alone. Had it been any kind of flyie-bitie insect, believe me, it would have been crushed mercilessly with the nearest flip flop. I’m not at all Zen when it comes to the possibility of being bitten since my skin over-reacts like a soap-opera star to insect bites. But anything which might eat a mozzie is welcome chez moi as far as I’m concerned.

So, I trundled off to have a shower. On my return, the insect was nowhere to be seen – in its place was a large and gruesome splat.

WTF?

Cleaning up the apparently spontaneous splattering, it occurred to me to wonder: “What ELSE is lurking in here which can take out another predatory creature so completely and without leaving a trace of its presence? And what if its now IN MY BED??”

I should have called Grisholm. As it was, I squealed like a girl (which is okay, because I am a girl) then virtually dismantled the entire bed and boiled all the bedding, just in case. Didn’t find a thing. Weird.

*Turns out I wasn’t far wrong, which is gratifying; some mantis species apparently mimic ants in their nymph phase. This is what it looked like. I’ll spare you a photo of the splat, although it was impressive.

antmimicmantis

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Insect CSI

  1. modestypress says:

    When I read about the poisonous spiders and other deadly fauna of Australia, I get scared.

    My brother lived in Senegal for three years and told us delightful tales of big creatures flying into meals and faces and stuff.

    I was just fantasizing in my blog about RG, Sylvie, and I running away to seek political refugee status with you in “Oz”, but RG and I are too chicken. Sylvie the world’s most extroverted cat might be up for it though.

  2. piereth says:

    Ug. Perhaps it was an antie poo-poo??

    Saw a lovely story about a 6 and 7 year old boy and girl in Germany, who decided to run away to Africa cause it was warmer there. They took along the 6 year old’s 5 year old sister as a witness, as they planned to get married when they arrived. They were found by the police at the rail station with a carefully packed suitcase, and were given a tour of the police station before being reunited with their parents. I know how they feel!! Wouldn’t mind the sun myself!

  3. azahar says:

    Your story reminds me of The Incident … I still sleep with the bedside lamp on. *shudder*

    Glad you didn’t actually find anything scary in your bed, though of course this only means that it’s still out there!!!

    Reading Bill Bryson’s Down Under was enough to make me never want to brave the wilds of Australia (or even downtown Sydney).

  4. Perhaps you are inadvertently hosting a Ravenous Bugblatter Beast – – –

  5. I’m still trying to get over “flyie-bitie” as an insect classification. Mind if I borrow that?

  6. truce says:

    Mr Random – how about sending Sylvie over first, as an advance guard? She can clear the place of potential invertebrate threats, then you and RG can join us šŸ™‚

    piereth – yes, I saw that story, too. I love the fact that the cops thought a tour of the police station would compensate them for an elopement to Africa… unless they have giraffes and lions in the station, I somehow doubt it.

    azahar – eugh, yes, I had forgotten about The Incident. *shudder*

    David – by all means. I find it to be comprehensively descriptive. Linnaeus would have used it, had he thought of it, I’m sure.

  7. Did your insect research explain why the bug spontaneously exploded? Was it your charms? The wall? A state of excitement? I’m at least glad it went away. When I was little I used to pray that there would be no bugs within a ten mile radius of my bed, it was how I manged to sleep. heh.

  8. OmbudsBen says:

    If you’d taken a nap, I’d suspect you of sleep-splatting. Sort of like sleepwalking, only more violent.

    Are you sure you didn’t nod off in the tub?

  9. I love bugs. But I don’t get horrible reactions to being bitten, either.

  10. truce says:

    waxingstrange – sadly, no. I have no leads at all. It is most mysterious and perplexing!

    Ombudsben – Oddly, that was my first thought: “I must have squished it without remembering” but I don’t think so…

    Healingmagichands – I love most bugs, just not the flyie-bitie varieties. And that’s only because they do me so much damage. You wouldn’t believe the reaction to the bites I got on my leg last Tuesday night. Yuk.

  11. I can imagine, actually. Jim reacts to chigger bites in a most spectacular fashion. I get a little red bump that itches for a couple of days. He gets huge red welts that itch like mad for weeks, sometimes even over a month, they develop a small pus pocket on top that is way too easy to scratch off by accident and the only thing that saves him is some steroid cream the doctor prescribed him.

  12. truce says:

    yep, I get a horrid hard and red lump which itches like mad and leaves a scar for weeks. Poor Jim.

Leave a Reply

