You're kidding, right?

Why is it that morbidly obese people wear sports gear? On my way home tonight I passed 2 men and at least 3 women who were squeezing their not insignificant bulk into Lycra shorts, tshirts with sports logos, baseball caps and trainers.

Now, if they’re on their way to or from some kind of physical activity in a laudable effort to shift some of the life-threatening flab, then I applaud them.

I suspect, however (and the take-away fried chicken and chips which they were speedily scoffing was the clue to this unerring piece of deductive reasoning) that they simply find that the elasticated and/or baggy style of Sports gear, as opposed to the more tailored style of regular clothing, is one of the only options open to the size XXXL.

Nonetheless, it is a little incongruous to see a person who clearly hasn’t seen their own toes in quite some time dressed like an elite athlete in fabrics that ‘wick’ away sweat and are designed to reduce drag…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to You're kidding, right?

  1. piereth says:

    Problem is, that’s what they bought. The lycra sportswear was once loose-fitting casual clothing but it’s been overtaken by lard.

  2. pandemonic says:

    There are obese people down under? I’m shocked! πŸ™‚

  3. Pan- It’s because our food chains have infected the area.

  4. truce says:

    piereth – “Nature abhors a vacuum” so they’re just eating to fill the space provided? πŸ˜‰

    Pandemonic – not very many, they’re definitely a minority. I think that’s why I noticed them.

    Waxingstrange – yup, McDonalds and Burger King (called Hungry Jacks over here) are a definite problem. But it amazes me that people can still be unaware of the damage such a diet does to their body. After all, just because the fast food is available doesn’t mean they HAVE to eat it, its a choice they make for whatever reason.

  5. piereth says:

    Perhaps so – although the wicking effect and cooling properties of modern sports fabrics might carry an unintended benefit for those who find perspiration in those hard-to-reach places a problem…..

  6. paleposygetscosy says:

    My friend works in a hospital, and had to arrange an ambulance to collect a 25 stone man who was suffering from pains in his side. It turned out that he’d got his television remote lodged in his fat, not noticed, and the batteries were leaking. But the irony of him being delivered wearing tracksuit bottoms was not lost on the staff…although I should definitely give him the benefit of the doubt, he had probably just been for a run. Probably.

  7. modestypress says:

    Perhaps thin people can start a trend of wearing mumus, tent-style dresses, men’s “big and tall” clothes, and other clothes appropriate for fat people.

    This won’t work. In a satiric series I once wrote, I made a joke about giving an award to people who succeed in squeezing their extra-large vehicles inot parking spaces labeled “compact vehicle” and then wondered about awards for people who park little tiny vehicles in speaces for very large vehicles.

    I suspect none of these jokes work in Australia or India, either for that matter.

  8. Michael the little boot says:

    “After all, just because the fast food is available doesn’t mean they HAVE to eat it, its a choice they make for whatever reason.” Oooo, philosophy! IS it a choice they make? It doesn’t FEEL like a choice when the smell of those French Fries fills the air…

    …could just be I’m from the U.S., though! πŸ˜‰

  9. OmbudsBen says:

    Mrs. Ombud and I note these fashion mistakes occasionally. Just a quiet comment, “she made the wrong choice this morning” with a nod of the head at a bulging belly or un-lovehandles.

    It’s very good we’re no longer slaughtering whales for corsets. Still, must the loss be so flaunted?

  10. Fat people have to wear something. Just imagine how you’d feel if they went around naked.

    Speaking as a person who is on the zaftig side but not morbidly obese, it is a lot easier to gain weight than it is to lose it. And I do not have the excuse of fast food since I NEVER eat it. The last time I went into a McDonald’s was 5 years ago on a road trip and I did it to use the toilet since the rest stop was closed for renovations. I have never eaten at Taco Bell, or Sonic, or Arby’s, or Hardees. There are plenty of calories for me to choose that are not fast food calories. Like home made brownies, or chocolate chip cookies, or carbonara.

    I think people wear those “sports clothes” because of what piereth mentioned, the coolness and wicking properties. I have sweats on right now because it is COLD in here, and when I went to the store to pick up the Sunday paper I didn’t change out of them.

    Now, if I would get up from the computer and go outside and do some work, maybe I could work off some of the calories I consumed for breakfast, but again, it is cold out there. And surfing the web and delurking at my web-friends’ blogs is more fun. Someone needs to invent a blogger’s treadmill station or something like that.

  11. truce says:

    paleposygetscosy – euuwwwwww! That’s horrendous. Also, thanks very much for joining the commenting, nice to see you πŸ™‚

    Mr Random – you have differently sized parking spaces in the US??????

    Michael – ah, well, I have been known to succumb once I have the scent myself. The trick is to steer clear of those ‘restaurants’ in the first place. I find that jumping into the nearest chocolate shop works supremely well as an avoidance tactic…

    Ombudsben – ah, yes, another benefit from being in a good relationship: having a co-conspirator with which to poke fun at others πŸ˜‰

    healingmagichands – you are nowhere near obese, I’ve seen the photos! I’m all for wearing comfy and practical clothing, I assure you. The first thing I do when I get home every evening is shower and change into pyjama bottoms and a tshirt in order to slob around. And I spend FAR too much time blogging and online lurking generally πŸ˜‰

  12. Kitty says:

    This is my biggest fear. I am a morbidly obese person that has joined a gym. I want to be healthier. Every time I squeeze into the available gym clothes they have for “fat people” I worry someone will think just what you thought… “poser!”. I hope not everyone sees what you see.

    However, with that said, I do agree that extra large (super sized) people tend to go for “athletic clothes” simply because they don’t pinch and bind.

    I’m totally NOT dissing your blog, just want you to be aware that there are some of us out there that really are going to the gym

    Kitty
    Diary of a Morbidly Obese Woman Joining a Gym
    http://www.morbidlyobeseandchanging.wordpress.com

  13. Norwichrocks says:

    Hi Kitty,

    that’s not at all what I meant. Anyone in a gym deserves respect and I’m hardly a stick-insect myself.

    What makes me laugh are people in sports gear who are clearly not participating in sports or any kind of exercise – not even a brisk walk around the block. They’re in sports gear to head from their car to the fast food counter and back.

    I have never heard anyone who uses a gym saying anything remotely negative about anyone who is overweight but trying. We’ve all had to start somewhere, and we all remember what its like when you feel nervous because its all new and you can’t do it as fast or as long as everyone around you seems to be able to.

    So, you stick with it and remember that we’re absolutely on your side. Go girl!

    Tx

Leave a Reply

