List 4: New Stuff I Have Done Recently and/or Am Shortly About To Do.

This is more of a note to myself of all the things I have determined are important to me but which I wasn’t actively pursuing. I will now be the poster girl for zeal in my pursuit of said stuff.

1. Drawing – On Sunday I completed the Experimental Drawing Course at Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art, linked to a rather wonderful exhibition of drawings (well, some of them were wonderful and some were unmitigated ‘social-radical-topical’ crap) which has inspired me enormously. I’ve since had a cracking idea for a series of graffiti paste-ups based on old etchings documenting historical confrontations in the very earliest days of the colony, as well as ideas for some Threadless tees designs which I’m now drawing up.

2. Painting – during the winter I have signed myself up for a decent old-fashioned oil painting course to learn the techniques of the medium, after which I intend to begin work on a series of portraits about Class and Caste Within Communities (Contemporary Tribal Identity and Belonging) which I have been mulling over for months.

3. Ceilidh – I’m now too old and too inclined to be in bed before 11pm for clubbing, but I still love to dance and leap about like a loon, especially to loud, fast, folky music. Plus, men in kilts and nobody trying to look cool. Splendid.

4. Regular yoga – Mysore session at least once a week to encourage and improve my self-practice at home.

5. Dive Master internship with Tricky in Manly – working in the dive centre at the weekend to fund the course. This is rather daunting since it will mean committing to a regular stint every weekend, no matter what else comes up in the way of kayaking, climbing, bushwalking, brunching, loafing etc.

6. Persevere with the on-line dating (Thank you Piereth!) as well as getting out and meeting new people. Basically, find someone to tamper with in the short term and someone as a lover and companion for the longer term – to which end I have just asked Not-So-Vanilla-IT-Guy over for dinner and he has accepted. AND I have a second date with Tall Smiley Motorbiker Guy next week. Yay, go the new ‘Don’t Take No For An Answer’ me!

7. Allotment – a group of local residents close to the park which is less than 2 minutes walk from my front door have formed a group to create a community vegetable garden. I’m in it. Bring on the beans.

8. CBT – stop making negative statements about myself. Even when they’re funny, they’re not clever. They are self-fulfilling badness and no longer even serve their original purpose (which was to put people at their ease by disguising my brain) – the only person such extreme self-deprecation has been convincing recently has been me, which is daft.

9. Climbing – I’ve always rather fancied trying this, but never really known anyone who was into it who could show me the ropes (literally, as well as figuratively). Turns out that the partner of one of my friends at work is a qualified instructor so he’s going to πŸ™‚

10. Cooking – I enjoy cooking, but not for one. So, since I also dislike large parties and crowds – and since my dining table only seats 6 even when extended – I will be hosting frequentish smallish dinner parties, just like I used to in the UK. The first is scheduled for the 17th April and I have already decided on the menu.

11. Riding – I haven’t been horse riding since I was at school, when I went through a brief pony mad phase and rode a pony called Lapwing and a cob called Oliver at weekends. Watching ‘McLeods Daughters’ recently has apparently re-awakened a desire to gallop – or at least trot shambolically – over rolling countryside with the wind in my hair. So, its off to the Blue Mountains for me, possibly this Easter weekend.

12. Being A Mistress of the Heavenly Spheres – I am clearly going to need many more hours in the day and days in the week in order to accomplish even half of the above list. So, I shall be Controlling Time henceforth… I’m sure there must be an iPhone app for that…

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to List 4: New Stuff I Have Done Recently and/or Am Shortly About To Do.

  1. modestypress says:

    Random Granddaughter has consistently listed her plans for an adult career as a) being a fire chief; b) being a railroad engineer; or c) being a ferry captain.

    Recently, with guests at the mommies’ house, RG (now five years old) presented her career goals as being a painter and/or being a teacher.

  2. George says:

    Hmm…I may need to make a list like this for myself. If only I could stick with it.

  3. Playing the piano more would be on my list of things I need to do more of. That and playing with paper more often. I tend to say to myself that I don’t really need to make all those cards, and then I make them and they disappear almost immediately as I use them. Hmmm. do you suppose that means that I have a need for hand made artistic cards?

  4. woo says:

    Mr Random – I’m with her on a) and c) but I’ll pass on b). However, I fully approve of her most recently stated goals. Especially since I was talked out of taking up a place at Art School by well-meaning family and teachers, who told me “You can’t make a living out of art”… and yet here I am, making (scraping) my living out of art.

    George – lists are excellent. You should make one, too, then we can stick our lists to our respective fridges and keep them fresh in our minds to help us stick with our intentions.

    Healingmagichands – your cards are always so beautiful that I would absolutely encourage you to make more – particularly since you obviously have a need for them!

  5. I need a nap after reading your to-do list. It wore me right out.

  6. piereth says:

    Woo woo, Woo! Nice going girl – I’ll let you know how my date with the graven angel goes after t’weekend!

  7. woo says:

    David – πŸ˜‰

    piereth – oooh yes, do!

  8. LazyBuddhist says:

    I’m afraid David took the words out of my mouth. Your ambition and energy are admirable.

  9. LB, I quite agree. A pity Sydney is moving to a 32 hour day πŸ™‚

    I notice there are no “work” ambitions shown on the list. This is a good thing!

  10. woo says:

    LazyBuddhist – ah well, it remains to be seen, of course, how many of these admirable intentions will actually be achieved…

    archiearchive – I don’t have an ambitious (or competitive) bone in my body. I used to feel that I ought to (mostly because I was constantly told so) but now I am embracing it. I love my job – I am valued and my talents are sufficiently stretched by it – so I’m in the happy position of being able to save my list for my life rather than my job πŸ™‚

  11. azahar says:

    More yoga! That’s my girl. πŸ™‚

    I hate it when I’m listless. Susan (Pip) is coming over this afternoon to help organise my lists. And not a moment too soon!

  12. Gosh you must be busy with your lists. Haven’t seen you around for a while! Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

