Friends: out of sight but not out of mind

I know who my friends are.

They’re the ones who, even though I now live on the other side of the planet, still spare a daily thought for me, as I do for them.

The ones whose emails and phone calls remain with me – whether their import is happy or sad, content or troubled – and keep me company during my day.

One of my dearest old friends sent me an email and then left me a phone message last night which upset and worried me deeply. Not because she said or wrote anything mean – she wouldn’t – but because she is really struggling. She’s a full-time Mum with three children under the age of 5, a house which is about to undergo major renovations, a husband whose work takes him away a lot, a Mother-in-Law who… well, let’s just say the MIL isn’t helping, and a family whose expectations are preposterous.

She says she’s a bad mother and that she’s not coping, that although she loves her kids she’s got to the point where she doesn’t actually like them. And I can hear in her voice that she is trying SO HARD not to cry, to be cheerful, to comment on my news and ask after my family that it breaks my heart.

Here follows a small tribute to some of my truest and most dear ‘out of sight but not out of mind’ friends:

Alex, Claire, Ed, Fran, Jools, Oliver B, Olly C, Plum, Sam, Sezbat, Tabitha, Tamsin, Townie. I love you and I miss you all.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friends: out of sight but not out of mind

  1. It’s hard to have a dear friend on the other side of the world. It’s a special kind of Hell when that friend is suffering.

  2. piereth says:

    My dear girl, I can attest to the level of comfort and support you bring when friends have problems, however far they are away from you.

    I hope that she’s all right, and not weighed down too heavily; there’s nothing worse than feeling you must live up to the expectations of family; who are they to heap pressure on!!

    I love you and miss you terribly. xXx

  3. woo says:

    David – it certainly is. Dante and I have been doing the rounds down here for a few days now.

    piereth – we had a great conversation last night via the power of skype video conferencing, which helped immensely. I love and miss you, too. Keep on keeping me posted on the you know what 😉

  4. sezbat says:

    my darling babe I am keeping up to date on you and love you trillions too. It warms my heart to get a mention. You always make me smile even all those miles away. Get published……you are such a clever, lush chick. Promise to look more frequently. Your friend Sezbat

Leave a Reply

