Sexual dimorphism in Publishing, Yoga and How The Bloody Hell Did I Become the Designated Running Trainer Here?

1. I sent an email today to some of ‘my’ artists and was reminded, looking at the list of names, that they are almost all male. Certainly all the ones working digitally are male. And even amongst the illustrators still working traditionally – in paint on paper – only two out of the 23 I commissioned on the last big project which used watercolour artwork were women.

This is a little odd, especially given how female-dominated Publishing is as an industry. Virtually our entire office is female, from the CEO to the Receptionist. Only one of our editors is male and only three out of the 10 or so designers we contract as freelancers are male.

I sit in the middle, trying to ‘translate’ between the “monstrous regiment of women” (gotta love old Knox) and an international mob of borderline autistic male artists.

🙂

As the book illustration business moves ever more exclusively toward digitally rendered artwork, I wonder whether this will mean fewer and fewer women thrive in – or even enter – the field. I hope not. 

2. Is it wrong to admire a male fellow practitioner’s physique in Yoga class? It is? I’m supposed to be focusing on my chakras and zenly above such earthly considerations? Oh. Too late… He really does have the most lovely shoulders.

3. The City to Surf is a 14km (8.6 miles – count ’em!) road race from central Sydney to Bondi beach. It takes place every August and somehow I seem to find myself in charge of a team of 8 colleagues who plan to enter this year in aid of a local charity. None of whom have ever entered a race before nor run more than a couple of hundred yards since school. Three of whom didn’t even own a pair of trainers, in fact.

Splendid.

We – well, four out of the eight of us – went for our first training run on Monday night. And by god they were good! We got all the way over Harbour Bridge with only one stop to stretch and two of them even managed some fartlek* on the return leg.

They apparently enjoyed it and surprised themselves with what they achieved, thanks to a little encouragement and the example of a ‘hare’ to follow… although this hare was a little more tortoise-like than hare, to be perfectly honest.

Anyway, I particularly enjoyed watching them stretch at the end; trying to bend at the hips with a straight back and touch the floor with their hands without bending their knees. Excellent stretch for the hamstrings. And really quite amusing to witness. Not often one has the opportunity to encourage one’s colleagues to thrust their bums skyward. Heh heh.

I’m now considering getting team t-shirts made. Suggestions for designs and slogans gratefully received…

 

* Fartlek: Swedish word which sounds more fun than it actually is, viz. alternately running fast and slow in order to build stamina and cardio fitness. Shattering, yes, but it works a treat.

This entry was posted in oh I don't know, just stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sexual dimorphism in Publishing, Yoga and How The Bloody Hell Did I Become the Designated Running Trainer Here?

  1. sledpress says:

    I think “Skyward Bums,” with an appropriate T-shirt graphic (a job for a female artist!) would be a boffo name for a running team. You could even request the symbol for the Muladhara Chakra right in the middle of the upturned bum, since that is roughly its location, and it’s a chakra after all so you can recruit its energy in Yoga class to ogle lovely shoulders, or what you like. Give Kundalini a jiggle in the pants.

  2. I think “All Bums Up to Fartlek!” is the obvious caption for your shirts.

  3. modestypress says:

    1. Random Granddaughter at five years old has decided she will be an artist instead of being a fire chief (her ambition at four years old). However, she is a little young to travel to Sydney alone by herself. Also, she is not allowed to use computers yet. However, she has performed her first art work for a commission. [Fuzzy details in my blog.] I offered to pay her $3 (matching her usual weekly allowance), but her mommies said they didn’t she should do art for money yet, so I paid her nothing, so your employer might really like her typical wage.

    2. I think you are supposed to have Out of body experiences in Yoga class, not Lusting after bodies experiences. We will have to send you back to an earlier incarnation for regrooving.

    3. I am reading a book to my wife called A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush about a couple of Englishmen with a week’s training or so on mountain climbing who then set out to climb one of the highest mountains in Afghanistan. Mountain climbing is one of the most dangerous avocations in the world. After every paragraph, my wife and I exclaim, “These people did not fall off the mountain and kill themselves because…?” [The author, Eric Newby, lived to his eighties or so.]

    I suggest you get copies of this book and have all the people on your team read it. Also, yesterday, I overheard a person at the gym where I work out say, “A friend of mine was surfing off the Oregon Coast and went right over the head of a 16 foot great white shark. After that he decided to stay close to shore.”

    The person he was talking to replied, “I would have been 1 mile [kilometer, measure to suit] up the shore for the rest of the day.”

    You live and dive in Australia because…?

    As one of my favorite poems ends:

    1. Random Granddaughter at five years old has decided she will be an artist instead of being a fire chief (her ambition at four years old).However, she is a little young to travel to Sydney alone by herself. Also, she is not allowed to use computers yet. However, she has performed her first art work for a commission. [Fuzzy details in my blog.] I offered to pay her $3 (matching her usual weekly allowance), but her mommies said they didn’t she should do art for money yet, so your employer might really like her typical wage.

    2. I think you are supposed to have Out of body experiences in Yoga class, not Lusting after bodies experiences. We will have to send you back to an earlier incarnation for regrooving.

    3. I am reading a book to my wife called A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush about a couple of Englishmen with a week’s training or so on mountain climbing who then set out to climb one of the highest mountains in Afghanistan. Mountain climbing is one of the most dangerous avocations in the world. After every paragraph, my wife and I exclaim, “These people did not fall off the mountain and kill themselves because…?”

    [The author, Eric Newby, eventually lived to his eighties or so.]

    As one of my favorite poems ends:

    Mithridates, he died old.

    I never thought I would make it alive to be 65. I decided if timid got me this far, I will see how much further I can go following the same scaredy
    cat policy. Meow.

  4. modestypress says:

    A copy and paste went astray and caused stupid duplication in my comment. This is another sign of making it to 65 years old. I apologize.

    Also as a team name:

    On the front of the shirt:

    Then you’ll fall

    On the back:

    Down to the ground

    http://tinyurl.com/ou98fm

  5. In the words of a little orange and white being, “Keep on running, keep on running.”

    Or, while in Yoga class, “Keep on lusting, keep on lusting!”

    I don’t think Nemo’s dad had anything to say about female artists.

  6. woo says:

    sledpress – excellent suggestion, thanks!

    David – splendid idea.

    Mr Random – 1. I shall be right over to investigate this potential source of new illustration talent 2. Good point 3. the name Eric Newby rings a distinct bell… I shall have to google him. Never apologise, never explain. 😉

    Archie – I have always liked clown fish.

  7. Fugitive Pieces says:

    I’ll lend you ‘A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush’. One of my favourite travel books, and writers. He was married to a fabulous woman called Wanda (they met in Italy, while he was a POW on the run, and he went back after the war to find her).
    Sample quote: a nervous Eric reading to Wanda from ‘The Imperial Gazzetteer of India’, before the trip began:
    ‘”There are several villages in Kafiristan which are places of refuge, where slayers of their fellow tribesmen reside permanently!”‘
    Wanda: “It says fellow “tribesmen” and I thought you were going to Nuristan.”
    Eric:”Don’t quibble. It was called Kafiristan until 1895. It goes on: listen to this: “Kafir women are practically slaves, being to all intents and purposes bought and sold as household commodities.”‘
    Wanda:”I’m practically a slave, married to you.”
    Eric: ‘”The young women are mostly immoral. There is little or no ceremony about a Kafir marriage. If a man becomes enamoured of a girl, he sends a friend to her father to ask her price. If the price is agreed upon the man immediately proceeds to the girl’s house, where a goat is sacrificed and then they are consdered to be married. The dead are disposed of in a peculiar manner.”‘
    Wanda:”Apart from the goat, it sounds like a London season. Besides, he admits it’s all out of date. I’m coming as far as I jolly well can.’
    Eric: “What about the children?”
    Wanda:” The children can stay with my mother in Trieste.”

    You’ll love it. Especially as Eric’s choice of reading for the trip was “The Hound of the Baskervilles”.

  8. It is never wrong to admire anyone’s physique while doing any activity. What is wrong is to grab it and gasp “I want you” or to drool while admiring.

    • sledpress says:

      Drool can always be disguised as an accidental consequence of extreme relaxation.

      • modestypress says:

        I hate to admit this, but I am a faithful married person and all, but I have from time to time realized I was drooling during intense marial moments.

        One more reason to stay faithful to my lovely wife for 43 years.

  9. woo says:

    Fugitive Pieces – that sounds like precisely the kind of conversation I would like to have with my husband, should I ever have one. Possibly the fact that this is precisely the kind of conversation I’d like to have with my husband is the reason why I don’t have a husband.

    healingmagichands – LOL, that made me laugh so hard I nearly fell off my chair!

    sledpress – there’s so much sweat in this class that I think the drool would be easily overlooked, so there’s an upside to (almost) everything…

    Mr Random – As long as you wipe your wife afterwards, that’s fine. Wait, that sounded much less weird in my head…

  10. azahar says:

    I like a simple “Bums Up!” for the t-shirts, which can also be called out in unison during warm-up and cool-down.

    And of course, you are the obvious choice to design the graphic. Especially after such extensive research.

  11. pandemonic says:

    #2. Hell yes.

  12. modestypress says:

    Woo,

    My wife wipes herself afterwards.

    That raises another question; an important issue to be resolved in new relationships: “Who sleeps in the wet spot?”

  13. OmbudsBen says:

    I could opine on whether you ought to lust, er, admire the men you work out with but, to be honest, I much prefer your agonizing over the issue–keep it up! 😀

Leave a Reply

